- Almond milk is a popular plant-based milk
- You can use almond milk as an alternative to dairy milk
- Almond is considered naturally gluten-free
- Ensure you source your almond milk from certified gluten-free almond brands
Almond milk can be a great alternative to dairy milk. Many people would like to know if this product is gluten free or not.
Almond milk is considered gluten-free. Some types of store-bought almond milk may contain gluten-containing flavorings. There’s a risk of cross-contamination during processing. Ensure you double-check the label to ensure the almond milk you are buying is certified gluten-free.
Our mission is to provide people on a gluten-free diet with easy-to-understand, helpful and up-to-date information, which will help to make better diet choices and lead healthier lives. And, we provide this information through various types of content pieces created by our highly experienced team, comprising subject matter experts in various relevant disciplines. This team draws its findings from both theory and research. Therefore, you can be assured that you are getting the most trustworthy information from us.
Does Almond Milk Have Gluten?
Almond milk is undoubtedly one of the most popular plant-based types of milk on the market. This plant-based milk is rich in healthy fats. You can use it as an alternative to dairy milk in various applications and settings.
You can use it for baked goods like cakes or stir it into your favorite hot beverage like tea or chocolate.
Almond milk is obtained from almonds. The almonds are crushed and blended with water, forming a white watery paste. The pulp from this blend is then removed, leaving behind the milky white liquid.
This milky white liquid is what’s considered almond milk. Some manufacturers may add flavorings like sugar and sea salt to enhance the milk’s taste and flavor. Almond milk is best strained with a nut milk bag.
According to Medical News Today, almond milk is low in calories. This means that you can consume this drink without gaining weight. With a cup of almond milk carrying 39 calories, then it is healthier than skim milk.
Observational studies have shown that the regular consumption of almond milk reduces the probability of heart diseases. This is due to the fact that almond milk has healthy fats.
It is estimated that 90 % of the fats in almond milk are not saturated. This milk gives good cholesterol and helps in reducing the bad cholesterol. For people with heart diseases, this product helps in their management.
Almond milk is rich in vitamin D. Vitamin D is very critical, more so when it comes to children who are young. Consumption of products that are rich in vitamin D will lead to strong muscles and strong bones.
Specific brands such as almond breeze come with more benefits such as calcium. In addition to that, almond coconut milk contains a low level of saturated fat.
If you are on a gluten-free diet, either because you have gluten allergies, gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance, you understand the importance of checking everything you eat.
Consuming gluten-containing foods or drinks will cause numerous complications in your body, some of which may be life-threatening.
The solution becomes checking that the ingredients used in a product are gluten free. Some companies ensure that their products are labeled gluten free. This is in the spirit of transparency on consumer products.
If you are looking to add almond milk to your gluten-free diet, you may be asking yourself; is almond milk gluten free? Does almond milk have gluten? Is almond milk safe for people on a gluten-free diet?
Almond milk is naturally gluten free and therefore, this product is almond milk gluten free. As we’ve pointed out above, almond milk is made from almonds and water. Gluten on the other hand, is mainly found in grains like wheat, barley, rye and triticale.
Since none of these grains has been used to make almond milk, then we can say, without a doubt, that almost all milk is gluten-free.
It’s also safe for people on a gluten-free diet, assuming that the only ingredients in the milk are water, almonds and gluten-free preservatives.
If you don’t experience any tree nut-related allergies or complications, then almond milk can be a great alternative to dairy milk. It’s available in almost all grocery stores across the country. Finding it should not be difficult.
Is Store-Bought Almond Milk Gluten-Free
While almond milk is considered naturally gluten-free, this may not be the case with every store-bought almond milk. There are two reasons why some types of store-bought almond milk may not always be gluten-free.
First, some manufacturers of almond milk will add a couple of additives, in an attempt to enhance its taste, flavor and texture.
Some of the additives that may be present in store-bought milk include modified food starch, emulsifier, food starch, maltodextrin, dextrin and flour. Some of these ingredients may contain gluten.
Second, some of the companies that sell almond milk also produce gluten-containing foods. If the almond milk was made using the same facilities as the gluten-containing products, then gluten cross-contamination will occur.
Whenever you are purchasing almond milk from the store, you should check the label to ensure you only certified gluten-free almond milk.
If you are not sure about the gluten status of the product that you are buying, it is prudent to call the manufacturer and seek clarification on the same.
Can People with Celiac Disease Consume Almond Milk?
Almond milk is made using non-gluten ingredients. Therefore, it’s considered gluten-free. And, does this mean that this milk is safe for people with celiac disease? Almond milk should be safe for people with celiac disease or any person following a gluten-free diet.
As we’ve discussed above, this milk may not always be gluten-free. It may contain gluten-containing additives or it may have been cross-contaminated with gluten during the manufacturing process. Almond milk gluten, from whichever source, will lead to contamination.
This milk can only be safe for people with celiac disease if it has been certified gluten-free. If not, then it won’t be safe to consume for celiacs, even if the manufacturer insists they haven’t used gluten-containing additives.
The good news is that there are hundreds of brands out there, selling certified gluten-free almond milk. If you have celiac disease, then you should be able to enjoy almond milk, without experiencing any adverse reactions.
Some of the leading gluten-free almond milk brands include Pacific Foods Shelf-Stable almond milk, Whole Foods 365 organic almond milk, Blue Diamond Almond Breeze, Califia Farms almond milk, and Silk almond milk.
Others include Simply Almond original almond milk, Aldi SimplyNature almond milk, Simple Truth almond milk, Almond Dream almond milk, Emhurst unsweetened almond milk and So Delicious almond milk.
Can You Make Almond Milk at Home?
Almond milk is widely available in stores and supermarkets. But, can you make almond milk at home?
Yes, you can also make almond milk at home. Homemade almond milk will follow the specification that you desire. You will prepare the quantity that you want. Making almond milk at home will be economical for you.
If you are looking to add almond milk to your gluten-free diet but can’t find any of the above gluten-free certified almond milk brands, then you also have the option of making yours.
This is because the market may not always give you what it promises, and many of the marketing strategies are mis-leading.
Making almond milk at home is easy. You just need a high-speed blender to grind and blend the almonds with water. From there, you simply need to strain the pulp and transfer the milk to a bottle.
Ensure the almonds you are using don’t have any gluten cross-contamination.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker