Is Baileys Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Baileys is a popular alcoholic beverage that has different flavors
  • Baileys is gluten-free
  • The distillation process helps to remove gluten that is present in Irish whisky
  • Individuals with celiac disease are advised to take unflavored baileys
  • Check the products label for any gluten information before you buy it

Baileys is a popular and flavored alcoholic beverage. Consumers would like to know if this is a gluten free product or not.

According to the baileys manufacturers, baileys is gluten free because all of its ingredients, with an exception of the Irish whisky, are gluten free.  Since distillation helps to remove gluten that is present in the Irish whisky, there may be little gluten or no gluten in baileys.

We are committed to offering our readers factual and highly researched information. We have a staff of skillful employees comprising researchers, editors, and authors who have researched components in processed foods and drinks and various diets to create high-quality content. This team boasts of years of experience in the field, and carries rich theoretical analysis and extensive fieldwork. Therefore, when you read any of our literature, the information you receive is more than credible.

Table of contents


Is Baileys Gluten free?

Is baileys gluten free? If you love drinking alcoholic beverages, then you are familiar with baileys. It is a popular type of drink that is unique from other alcoholic drinks because you can take it with coffee, hot chocolate or in desserts.

A small segment of the American population has developed a reaction to gluten. This is manifested in medical conditions such as celiac disease and other forms of gluten sensitivity such as non celiac gluten sensitivity. Others experience wheat allergy.

People who are affected by gluten must be sure to follow a gluten free diet. At the center of this is the need to check the gluten free label and make an informed decision based on the nutritional information.

The bottomline is that people with celiac disease should avoid gluten content such as wheat products. Failure to do so will mean constant symptoms that are associated with celiac disease. These include gas in the stomach and diarrhea.

Since there are other alcoholic beverages known to contain gluten, some individuals need clarification of whether baileys contains gluten or is gluten-free. To clarify, baileys can be gluten- or not gluten-free since it is not a tested product.

Even though most of its ingredients are gluten-free, the Irish whisky is known to contain wheat, rye, or barley, which are active sources of gluten. The brand claims that the distillation procedure helps remove gluten and other components, but it has not yet been proven true.

Is Baileys Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

Baileys may be safe for individuals with celiac disease since the manufacturers claim it to be gluten-free. Not all baileys may be gluten-free, and thus, this product is not considered gluten free.

It is advisable to consult your doctor and other medical professionals before consuming it. This will ensure that you live a healthy life.

Gluten Free Baileys

The market offers a number of  gluten free baileys. The following are some of the main kinds of baileys that are known to be gluten-free:

Baileys Original

Bailey’s original is one of the brand's first baileys. It provides the safest option of baileys for people with gluten sensitivities or allergies because it excludes gluten-containing components,and thus, it is baileys gluten free. Apart from the lack of gluten, it is also suitable for people with nut allergies and does not contain any lactose.

The manufacturing process is done carefully to avoid cross-contamination from occurring.  When the doctor confirms that you can consume baileys, the safest option should be baileys original.

Baileys Almande

The baileys almande is suitable for people with celiac disease because it uses almond milk, which does not contain gluten.

The drink is flavorful and mainly used to make cocktails or served with ice.  Baileys almande is also a good option for individuals who have lactose intolerance because it replaces cream with almond milk and oil.

What Ingredients are used to make  Baileys?

Baileys Irish cream is a popular alcoholic beverage that combines Irish dairy cream, chocolate, vanilla, and Irish whiskey.

This particular kind of Irish cream is available in a wide range of flavors like colads, strawberries, apple pie, cinnamon, and expresso crème, among others flavors. Gluten-Free Alternatives to Baileys

Carolans Irish Cream

Carolans Irish cream provides a suitable alternative to baileys because it is known to be gluten-free, and it is a good baileys original irish cream. According to their website, they disclose gluten and wheat information to its consumer if a product contains such ingredients.

Like the barleys, Carolans Irish cream is perfect for desserts because of its rich and creamy flavors that blend well with various mixers and spirits.  If you are seeking a drink similar to baileys that guarantee it is gluten-free, then Carolans is a perfect choice.

Ryan’s Irish Cream

Ryan’s Irish cream is a good alternative and gluten-free option for individuals with celiac disease. It is distilled alcohol which is carefully distilled to remove any gluten that might be in the product due to the use of Irish whiskey.

Ryan’s is an affordable alcoholic beverage that tastes good in neat, chilled, hot, or cold coffee, cocktails, or taken alone using ice cubes.

Regarding flavor, Ryan’s has a unique flavor that made the brand win gold for being the smoothest liquor or an international spirit tasting panel. If you have consumed baileys for a long time and wish to explore its alternatives, Ryan's is ideal for you.

Five farms Irish cream

Five farms is an authentic brand that sells gluten-free Irish cream to consumers. It provides an excellent alternative to baileys because it is blended with a high-quality Irish whisky for 48 hours and then distilled to remove unnecessary components, and it is irish cream gluten free.

Five farms is a trusted brand that has existed for a long time and is known to instill the traditional ways of making Irish cream.

Over the years, the brand has won multiple competitions regarding flavor and smoothness.  If you wish to try a baileys alternative with similar characteristics in terms of servings, five farms Irish cream is an ideal choice for you.

Where can you buy Baileys?

Since baileys is a popular alcoholic beverage, it is also available in liquor stores and supermarkets.  If you want to avoid going to liquor stores, you can order online through different platforms, which will be delivered to your doorstep.

Can you make Baileys at Home?

Since the production of baileys requires ingredients that are accessible and affordable, it is easy to make your gluten-free baileys at home.

All you will require is a blender and the essential ingredients, which are Irish whiskey, cream, and vanilla.

If you are on a gluten-free diet, you will need to replace the Irish whiskey with a gluten-free one since you do not have the equipment needed for distillation.

If you have lactose intolerance, you will also be required to substitute the cream with almond oil since the cream is an active source of gluten.

Making your baileys at home provides a cheaper and more flexible way to enjoy because you can make the kind of flavor according to your taste and preference.

Another advantage with cooking is that you will be able to meet your needs and preferences. Like in the case of having celiac disease, you must follow a gluten free diet.

One will also be able to prepare gluten free alcoholic beverages and avoid gluten containing alcoholic beverages.

You will be surprised that preparing drinks at home will require simple equipment. For example, making bailey’s irish cream will need a blender and not much more making it easy for you.