- Basmati rice is flavorful and full of sweet aromas when cooked
- Basmati rice is gluten-free when harvested and processed in the correct way
- There are some situations where you can get gluten in your basmati rice
- Not all brands prepare gluten-free basmati rice
- There are a variety of gluten-free dishes you can serve with basmati rice
Basmati rice is a popular and high-quality rice. Consumers would like to know if this product is gluten free or not.
Basmati rice is usually gluten free and will be a safe food for someone with gluten problems. Since there is a high risk of cross-contamination, you should look at the product's label to certify that it is gluten-free.
We have put a lot of commitment to ensuring we deliver accurate and highly researched information to our readers. We have competent professionals who are dedicated to researching the food and the different dietary needs of individuals. This team draws its conclusions from extensive theory and research. Therefore, when you read any of our resources, you can be more than confident that the information is highly authoritative.
Is Basmati Rice Gluten free?
Is basmati rice gluten free? Is this product naturally gluten free? Basmati rice is a popular type of rice due to its pleasant fragrance, quality rice grains, and thinness. It is a long grain rice which can lengthen even more after cooking.
This product has a better aroma than plain rice. It contains more vitamins than sushi rice and brown rice.
There are several benefits of basmati rice. To start with, basmati rice contains thiamine which is very effective for enhancing the functioning of the brain. Thiamine plays an important role in preventing medical conditions which are life-threatening.
Just like jasmine rice, basmati rice is a source of protein, making it good for preparing rice dishes.
The fiber content in basmati rice enhances digestion. This helps in preventing stomach disorders that are brought about by poor digestion.
One of the greatest advantages of basmati rice is that one can enrich it. Through this, the nutrients of choice can be added.
Harvard Health states that celiac disease is a condition where the immune system responds to gluten as foreign. It is an auto-immune and genetic medical condition. It damages the villi of the small intestines which help in the absorption of nutrients.
If you have celiac disease, then you must be very careful about what you consume. You should peruse the market in order to identify foods which are certified gluten free.
It is very important that you avoid foods made with wheat flour because they contain a high level of gluten, and the same case applies to gluten containing grains.
The good thing is that the gluten free market is growing, and you will be spoilt for choice when it comes to gluten free products. With the current observations, the gluten free market will continue to grow.
Basmati rice, just like all other types of rice, is gluten-free when prepared and packed correctly. It is safe for someone with celiac disease, as long as there is no contamination.
Situations that may make Basmati not to be Gluten free
Rice, just like other grains, basmati rice can be cross-contaminated with gluten. Cross-contamination usually occurs when food is being processed. Contamination can also occur during transport of food, handling of food, and serving of food.
If you take this rice, it is glutinous rice, and symptoms associated with celiac disease will affect you.
Check for any gluten information on the product before buying the rice. Most of the time, a product with a gluten-free label will guarantee you a gluten level that is less than 20 parts per million.
Some bodies such as the FDA have made a strong effort to advocate for safer foods in the market. With such efforts, the consumers are going to make an informed decision.
Even though basmati is a gluten-free product, most individuals following a gluten-free diet will add ingredients to the rice dish or even to sauces and stews that may contain gluten.
A commonly used gradient is soy sauce since other soy sauces are known to have gluten in them. Therefore, when preparing rice or different sauces to serve with it, ensure you carefully use gluten-free ingredients.
Do all Brands prepare Gluten free Basmati rice?
Even though most basmati brands are known to prepare gluten-free rice. If you have celiac disease or other gluten problems, the following are some of the brands certified to sell gluten-free basmati rice:
Iberia Basmati Rice
Iberia basmati is a trusted brand that sells gluten-free basmati rice with gluten-free and GMO-free certifications on its label. The basmati rice has been well-aged to fill it with high fiber, delicious flavor, and a pleasant aroma without using flavorings and other additives.
The Iberia rice is also simple to prepare and is adaptable to a wide range of sauces and stews.
There is a variety of Iberia basmati rice in the market whose nutritional value may differ, giving you options for choosing according to your taste and preference. Iberia rice is found in supermarkets and online through platforms like Walmart and Amazon.
Veetee Basmati Rice
The veetee basmati rice is a perfect gluten-free option for individuals who want rice as a snack. With veetee basmati rice, you can consume it immediately because it is already steamed and has no flavors, gluten colors, or preservatives.
One setback of buying this product is its short shelf life since it is already prepared for consumption. Nonetheless, it is perfect and adaptable for different sauces and stews. Veetee basmati is available in supermarkets or online via amazon. However, when ordering online, ensure the product is fresh.
Khazana Basmati Rice
Khazana basmati rice is also an ideal gluten-free option bought from the Himalayas. The brand has been certified to prepare basmati rice free from gluten, GMOs, colors, and other additives.
The brand also ensures they get high-quality basmati rice rich in nutrients such as potassium, amino acids, potassium, and niacin.
When cooking khazana basmati rice, it is simple to cook since you can use a cooker, microwave, or stovetop. It will only take you 15 to 30 minutes to prepare. Khazana basmati is popular in supermarkets or other online platforms such as Instacart.
Lundberg Basmati Rice
The Lundberg is a trusted brand known for manufacturing premium organic basmati rice for more than 4 generations.
The Lundberg has increased its demand to sell their basmati rice due to the emphasis on selling natural rice. The brand is also known for being gluten-free and having a pleasant aroma.
Additionally, its grains are also thin and will not stick or become gluey when you are cooking. According to the brand's label, all their basmati rice varieties are made to be gluten-free, GMO-free, and certified by the USDA organization to be 100% organic.
What Dishes can you serve with Basmati Rice?
Since basmati rice originates in India, most individuals love serving it as rice pilafs, Indian curries, or using spices or herbs. Additionally, since rice is popularly known worldwide, it is used in cuisines from different cultures.
If the sauce or stew is tasty, it will taste well with basmati rice.
If you are limited in the dishes you can serve with basmati rice, there are various recipes for basmati rice that you can view or download from the internet to prepare your favorite basmati rice recipe.
There are a number of sauces that go very well with basmati rice. Soy sauce is one of such accompaniments.
If you have celiac disease, it is advisable to be cautious with the kind of stew or sauce you serve your rice because some of the ingredients may contain gluten. For example, if it's taking of soy sauce, it should be gluten free soy sauce.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker