Is Better Than Bouillon Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Better Than Bouillon is a popular food product used in soups and stews
  • The Better Than Bouillon has high risk of getting gluten contamination
  • The Better Than  Bouillon contains gluten
  • There are gluten-free alternatives to the better than Bouillon
  • Check the products ingredients and gluten information before purchase

Better than Bouillon is a brand known for its rich flavor and convenience. Consumers would like to know if better than bouillon is gluten free or not.

The Better than Bouillon official website states that Better than Bouillon contains gluten since wheat products are stored at the same facility where it is produced. This creates a high risk of contamination during the manufacturing process. The product is not tested to be gluten free as well.

Our mission is to ensure we offer our readers highly researched and updated information. We have a workforce of competent and skillful professionals from different areas of specialization that ensure the content they publish in articles and other resources is of high quality. This team comes with vast food skills and experience, having carried out extensive projects for many years. When you read any of our published projects, we assure you that the information you acquire is highly authoritative.

Table of contents


Is Better Than Bouillon Gluten-Free?

If you're a fan of flavorful broths and soups, you've likely heard of Better Than Bouillon. This concentrated paste is a popular alternative to traditional bouillon cubes and granules, offering a richer, more complex flavor profile in a convenient, easy-to-use form.

Unlike many other bouillon products, Better Than Bouillon is made with real meat, poultry, seafood, or vegetables, depending on the flavor. This gives the product a more authentic taste and aroma, making it a favorite among home cooks and professional chefs.

Bullion chicken will make a hearty chicken broth.

The use of hydrolyzed soy protein and corn syrup solids can make it a very unique product. Similarly, some recipes of vegetable bouillon cubes are gluten free.

People who have gluten do not have the liberty to take some foods. This is because gluten free foods are rejected by the body. One experiences various symptoms such as diarrhea, bloating, and anemia. These symptoms worsen over time, and some parts of the body such as the small intestines are the most affected.

If you're gluten intolerant or have celiac disease, it's essential to know whether the food you're consuming is gluten-free. You will need to stick to a gluten free diet. You should be checking the gluten free label on products which are labeled gluten free so that you can make an informed decision.

There is a lot of information that is available on the topic of gluten products. Bodies such as the FDA support manufacturers who want to label their products as gluten free in this process.

If you need information about gluten, you can consider calling the manufacturer and seeking clarification on what you want to know.

Your own doctor is a reliable source of information about gluten. This is more so in the case where you are not able to make a decision on your own.

Better than Bouillon is a popular soup base, and many people wonder if it's gluten-free.

Even though better than Bouillon does not contain gluten in its ingredients, its manufacturer states that it may get contaminated because wheat is stored in facilities where Better than Bouillon is processed.

Is Better Than Bouillon Safe for People with Celiac Disease

Since the product is processed in an area where wheat is stored and has not been tested to be gluten-free, it is unsafe for individuals with celiac disease to consume. The product will only provide you with gluten information but not its level making it hard to know the amount of gluten present.

It is advisable to go for gluten-free alternatives that are better than Bouillon to avoid getting gluten problems when consuming Bouillon.

Remember that even though these gluten-free alternatives claim to be gluten-free, you should check the label for any gluten-containing ingredients.

The ingredients list will provide you with all the information you need to make an informed decision about whether to consume the product.

Ingredients and way of cooking Better Than Bouillon

Better Than Bouillon is a great option for adding flavors to dishes and for preparing a delicious broth. In addition to its superior taste, Better Than Bouillon is a versatile ingredient used in various dishes. It is a healthy soup due to the rich nutrients that it carries.

This product can add depth and complexity to any recipe, from classic soups and stews to gravies, sauces, and marinades. It comes in various flavors, including chicken, beef, vegetable, and seafood, so that you can find the perfect match for your culinary creations.

Better than Bouillon is made using meat, water, salt, sugar, yeast extract, vegetables, spices, and natural flavors.

Better Than Bouillon contains no gluten-containing ingredients such as wheat and barley.

Knorr bouillon contains a delicious mix of gluten free ingredients and is therefore knorr bouillon gluten free. Similarly, beef bouillon cubes are gluten free. However, wyler’s bouillon gluten free is not easy to get because of the ingredients used.

It is important to note that Better Than Bouillon has a high risk of getting cross contaminated and is not certified gluten-free, which means that it is possible that it could be contaminated with gluten in the manufacturing process.

Are there Allergens other than gluten in Better Than Bouillon

Yeast extract is a potential allergen for people sensitive to MSG or monosodium glutamate. MSG is a flavor enhancer that's commonly used in processed foods. While yeast extract doesn't contain MSG, it does contain glutamic acid, which can cause similar reactions in some.

Better Than Bouillon also contains soy sauce made from fermented soybeans, wheat, and salt. Soy sauce is a core ingredient in Asian cuisine used to flavor dishes.

While Better Than Bouillon doesn't contain wheat in its natural form, it does contain soy, which is a potential allergen for some people. Other potential allergens in Better Than Bouillon include celery and onion. While these ingredients are not common allergens, some may be sensitive.

Gluten-Free Alternatives to Better Than Bouillon

Since it is better than Bouillon, is not certified to be gluten-free, and has a high risk of getting gluten contamination, it is ideal to look for gluten-free alternatives to avoid getting allergies or other gluten problems.

Companies such as Unilever provide high quality bouillon food bases and other types of bullions, and you just need to check the gluten status. The good thing is that the gluten free market has grown exponentially in recent years, and you will not have a shortage of options.

The following are some of the popular brands that make gluten-free bouillon alternatives:

Bou Bouillon

Bou Bouillon is known to make sweet bouillon cubes and gluten-free flavor cubes. Like the Better Than Bouillon, you can use bou Bouillon to make various stews and soups.

Bou bouillon comes in various flavors depending on your taste and preference. According to the Bou bouillon website, the only product to avoid from the company is gravy cubes since it is an active source of gluten.

Apart from the gravy cubes, all other products are gluten-free.

Herb Ox Bouillon

Herb Ox is one of the best companies to buy your gluten-free bouillon alternative because they disclose all the information concerning their ingredients and if there is any gluten in them.

Herb ox bouillon is a safe choice for anyone following a gluten-free diet because all its flavors are marked as gluten-free on its official website. Herb ox is available in supermarkets, or you can order online through Amazon or the official manufacturer's website.