Is Boba Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Boba pearls are made of cassava starch, which is gluten-free
  • Boba is a holistic word that means either boba pearls or boba tea
  • Traditional Boba is safe for individuals having gluten problems
  • Boba comes in a variety of flavors, from fruits and other juices
  • It is simple to prepare a homemade Boba tea

Boba tea is among the most popular Taiwan beverages and it is not only tasty but also nutritious. Therefore, is Boba gluten-free?

Since the Boba pearls are typically prepared using cassava starch, they are gluten-free. Regarding the Boba tea, it is also gluten free since it contains milk, tea and tapioca starch as its primary ingredients. Therefore, Boba tea is safe for everyone, especially those with celiac disease.

We aim to ensure our readers acquire valuable and well-researched information through articles and other published resources. Additionally, we have a staff of competitive personnel consisting of authors, editors, and researchers who ensure that the content they create and publish is high quality and dependable. This team comes with vast skills and experience on matters that are related to food. As a result, when you read our projects, we assure you that the information you acquire is highly authoritative.

Table of contents


About Boba

Boba, also known as tapioca pearls, are seed-like products made using cassava starch, which has roots in South America. Additionally, since Boba is holistic, most of the countries refer Boba as the Boba tea as well.

Regarding the Boba tea, it is a popular beverage with roots in Taiwan and many businesses deal with it including a bubble tea shop. You just need to hop into your favorite bubble tea shop and you will enjoy this tasty tea drink.

Boba tea has gained a lot of  popularity and is available in many stores in the US due to its sweet and creamy taste.

When it comes to the health benefits of drinking Boba tea, consuming Boba green tea is known to regulate the body's cholesterol and blood pressure, thus reducing the likelihood of getting heart disease and stroke.

Bubble tea plays an important role in boosting the immune system. This is due to the high content of the antioxidants.

Many people have used boba in their social life as they interacted with family and friends. This leads to a holistic health.

Other names for boba tea are bubble tea, milk tea, pearl tea, and tapioca tea. There are other variations such as bubble milk tea. The use of tapioca balls means that the “pearls” will not dissolve as quickly, when they are expanded.

About Gluten

People with gluten problems will have symptoms such as diarrhea that affects them any time that they take gluten. Medical conditions that are brought about by gluten include celiac disease.

If one shows symptoms of celiac disease, but lab results show a negative test for celiac disease, then one is said to have non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

People living with gluten problems should be sure to take gluten free options, for instance, boba gluten free, gluten free bubble tea, and gluten free drink. Most importantly, one will need to take gluten free food which is certified as such and food which is totally gluten free. In other words, a gluten free diet must become a lifestyle.

The good thing is that many vendors are dealing with gluten free food, thereby giving the consumers a lot of options to choose from.

Is Boba gluten-free?

Consumers often ask, is boba gluten free? Is it naturally gluten free? Since Boba pearls are made from tapioca starch, they are gluten free,and thus, this tea is tea gluten free. Typically, tapioca starch is processed from cassava, and since cassava is a vegetable with no grains, it is gluten free.

Since tapioca is extracted from the cassava root, some processes are involved in making the boba pearl.  Most facilities or processors of a certain brand have a risk of cross-contamination, especially when they share their facilities in processing Boba and other products that may contain gluten.

Therefore, you are required to do research or contact the Boba café for further information if you are in doubt about how Boba will affect you, or better still, ask a medical professional.

Since Boba is holistic and can also mean Boba tea, it is also gluten-free. However, some Boba shops may also have cross-contamination problems. Therefore, it is advisable to take your beverage from a certified gluten-free shop or café for your bubble tea gluten free.

Therefore, before you order your favorite Boba tea, ensure that you have explained to the waiter or the individual serving you your gluten problems so that they may prepare and handle your drink in a way that will not contaminate it with gluten.

Are all Brands trusted to deliver gluten-free Boba?

Even though most Boba shops sell gluten-free Boba, some will add ingredients that may contain gluten. The following are some of the trusted brands known to sell gluten-free Boba:

Bob’s Red Mill Tapioca Pearls

The bob's red mill is popularly known all over the US for selling gluten-free Boba. Even though their tapioca pearl is smaller than the traditional Boba, they have the same texture, color, and flavor.

One of the unique things about bob's red mill is that they use only tapioca starch. Apart from using the Boba for tea, it can also be used as a covert ingredient in cinnamon rolls to increase its texture and balance softness. Additionally, it is also used to produce tapioca pudding.

According to the brand's website, their boba is certified gluten-free and will disclose any information when they add other ingredients. To prepare homemade Boba tea, you can order online via different platforms or in supermarkets.

Bolle Boba

Bolle Boba is also a popular brand known to produce gluten-free Boba. The only distinction that makes Bolle Boba more unique is using other natural ingredients such as caramel and maple to enhance Boba's taste.

Even though the Bolle brand does not include any information certifying it to be gluten-free, none of the ingredients on its label include gluten or wheat. Therefore, you can purchase Bolle Boba and add it to your diet since it is high in proteins and other nutrients.

The Buddha Boba

The Buddha Boba is a trusted brand known to make gluten-free boba. The brand makes light and flavorful tapioca pearls that complement a warm or iced tea. The brand also sells a variety of gluten-free tea powders that you can prepare with bubble tea at home.

Therefore, all you will need to do is to boil water for about 5 minutes and then place the boba pearls so that they may become soft. Then, add your favorite milk and syrup to enhance its flavor. According to the brand's website, their Boba pearls are certified to be gluten-free.

However, they also use flavorings and artificial colors. Therefore, before you purchase the Buddha Boba pearls, confirm whether the artificial colors and flavors have gluten in them.

Can you prepare Boba tea at home?

It is easy to prepare Boba tea at home since the ingredients are readily available and affordable. Additionally, the process used to make boba tea is simple and will take a short period for you to make boba tea gluten free products. In addition, you can make tapioca pearls for boba tea.

With preparing any product at home, you will prepare it the way you want. In particular, you will choose gluten free ingredients, for example, tapioca pearls gluten free.With the right preparation, you will have chewy tapioca balls.

Again, with home made products, you can prepare brown sugar boba. This is a variant of bubble tea which does not have tea. In addition to that, if you do not like using dairy products on boba teas, it is possible to use boba dairy free.