Is Cheesecake Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Cheesecake is a popular, delicious and hearty dessert
  • Some of the ingredients used to make cheesecake may contain gluten
  • Store-bought cheesecake may not be safe for those on a gluten-free diet
  • The market has ample choices for gluten free cheesecake
  • You should make your own cheesecake if you are on a gluten-free diet

Cheesecake is a delicious tart, featuring a soft and delicious inner layer, a hard outer crust and several toppings. But is cheesecake gluten-free?

Cheesecake isn’t considered gluten-free. Cheesecake features a hard outer crust or base, primarily made of graham crackers. And, graham crackers are made of wheat flour, which contains gluten. But, you can easily make a gluten-free cheesecake at home using gluten-free ingredients.

We are an authoritative voice, providing people on a gluten-free diet with factual, reliable, up-to-date and helpful gluten-related information. This information comes in the form of recipes, nutritional guides and other content pieces, created by our outstanding team of health professionals, registered dietitians, and other industry experts. Therefore, we can guarantee all our readers that they are getting the most reliable information out there.

Table of contents


About Cheesecake

Cheesecake is a flavorful dessert, often served at holiday parties and restaurants all across the world. You can also purchase it from the store or in a pastry shop near you.

As its name suggests, this dessert is mainly made with cheese, primarily cream cheese.

However, sour cream and cottage cheese are sometimes used instead of cream cheese.

As you may expect, cheesecake has a creamy and rich texture while the taste can range from tangy to sweet. The exact texture or taste will depend on the cream cheese used to prepare the cake.

There are numerous variations of cheesecakes out there. The most popular ones include the New York cheesecake, Ricotta Cheesecake, Japanese cheesecake, no-bake cheesecake, Chicago-style cheesecake, and French cheesecake, among others.

Traditional cheesecake is rich in calories, fat, protein, and carbs. Some brands of cheesecake use sweeteners with zero calories in order to fit a low carb diet.

Some brands have cheesecake products which will fit a vegan diet through using non-dairy products, eg pea protein and coconut protein.

What Ingredients Are In Cheesecake?

Cheesecake is mainly made of cream cheese, vanilla, sugar, sour cream, lemon, and eggs, spread over a thinner crust. It’s then topped with various bites, which can be salty or sweet.

The crust used for the majority of cheesecakes out there is made using graham crackers for graham cracker crust.

Some of the most common cheesecake toppings include fruit sauces, sour cream, caramel syrup, whipped cream, and pieces of fruit or nuts like peanuts, cashews, walnuts and pecans.

About Gluten

Gluten is a type of protein present in barley, wheat, and rye. And, it occurs naturally in these grains, which essentially means you can’t strip it away. So, if a particular cereal or grain has gluten, then it’s almost impossible to declare the resulting product gluten-free.

Therefore, you can expect products like bread, cake, malt beer, crackers, cookies, soy sauce and others made with wheat and barley to have gluten.

Gluten tends to pose some complications to individuals with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.

If you have any sort of gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity and you accidentally eat gluten-containing foods, it may trigger an autoimmune response, resulting in numerous undesirable complications. These include the presence of gas in the stomach, bloating, and diarrhea.

Therefore, anyone with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or non-celiac gluten intolerance will have to be extra cautious of what they eat. Ideally, they should strictly follow a gluten-free diet to avoid any gluten-related complications and allergies.

One must be willing to check the labeling of the products, for example, the packages cream cheese, and get accurate information of whether a product is gluten free.

Does Cheesecake Have Gluten?

So, is cheesecake gluten free? From our discussion above, people who experience gluten-related complications have to take extra safety measures regarding their diet choices. And, if you follow a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering whether cheesecake is gluten-free.

Does cheesecake have gluten? Is cheesecake gluten-free? Is cheesecake safe for people on a gluten-free diet?

The truth is that store-bought cheesecake and the one that you will find in most restaurants won’t be gluten-free, and by taking this product, you will not be taking cheesecake gluten free.

Most establishments will use graham crackers to create the crust for the cheesecake. And, graham crackers crusts are usually made with wheat flour, meaning they are not gluten-free.

Consequently, the resulting cheesecake won’t be gluten-free. Unless the label specifically says that the cheesecake has been made using gluten-free graham crackers, then it won’t be gluten-free.

Also, some cheesecakes come with thickeners made of wheat flour. Again, wheat flour is sourced from a gluten-grain, meaning the cheesecake won’t be gluten-free.

Can People With Celiac Disease Eat Cheesecake?

As we’ve mentioned above, one of the ingredients used to make cheesecake has gluten. Therefore, if you have celiac disease, then cheesecake may not be safe for you – especially store-bought cheesecake.

So, if you are out on dinner and cheesecake is served as the dessert, it will be highly advisable to avoid eating it – unless you can confirm that all the ingredients used are entirely gluten-free.

And, even if you have been assured that the ingredients used are gluten-free, the possibility of gluten cross-contamination is always there. For instance, the cheesecake may have been exposed to gluten during the preparation process.

How To Enjoy Gluten-Free Cheesecake

The majority of store-bought cheesecake and that served in eateries will contain gluten, meaning it’s not safe for those on a gluten-free diet. But, this doesn’t mean you are out of luck if you are looking to try out this delicacy.

You can still enjoy the best gluten free cheesecake by making yours at home and you will be able to make gluten free cheesecake the way you want. You simply need to check online and you will come across dozens of gluten-free cheesecake recipes.

You can then choose a gluten-free cheesecake recipe that suits your tastes and preferences.

If you decide to prepare cheesecake at home, then be sure to choose gluten free graham crackers for your gluten free recipe. The crackers add flavor in the preparation of cheesecake.

Most likely, the cheesecake recipe will make use of cream cheese or sour cream as cheesecake filling.

When you are preparing cheesecake, you want a creamy texture and consistency, and you can use cheesecake batter to achieve this. In addition to that, you can use melted butter in order to give a baked product an ideal texture. Moreover, vanilla extract will make the cheesecake taste good.

The use of a springform pan ensures that one prepares a perfect cheesecake. You can pour cheesecake filling in order to make it more delicious. However, this filling must be cheesecake filling gluten free, for instance, cherry pie filling which is gluten free.

With homemade kitchen skills, you will be able to prepare a perfect gluten free cheesecake and easy gluten free cheesecake.

You can take cheesecake with other food products, including chocolate sauce. Another type of cheesecake that is worth trying is baked cheesecake which comes with a delicious gluten free crust.

Wheat flour in the graham crackers used to form the crust for the wheat cake are the main issue for people on a gluten-free diet. Instead of wheat flour, you can use gluten-free flour like almond flour for the crust.

Alternatively, you can use a gluten free graham cracker for a free graham cracker crust and gluten free cheesecake crust.

If preparing your own cheesecake at home feels like too much work, then you can simply look for establishments that offer certified gluten-free cheesecakes. For instance, the Cheesecake Factory has an entire selection of gluten-free cheesecakes, designed for individuals on a gluten-free diet.