Is Coffee Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Coffee is one of the most consumed beverages in the world
  • Coffee is gluten-free when manufactured using clean facilities and equipment
  • Cross-contamination and the use of flavors are the leading cause of gluten in coffee
  • There are various kinds of coffee in the market
  • Not all coffee  brands can be trusted to prepare gluten-free coffee

Coffee is a unique beverage that is popular all over the world. Consumers would like to confirm whether it is gluten-free or not.

Coffee is naturally gluten-free, which means it does not contain gluten as an ingredient. You can enjoy coffee without worrying about gluten. It’s crucial to note that some coffee drinks and additives may contain gluten. Some of the brands may have risks of gluten contamination as well.

We are committed to ensuring that our readers acquire factual and updated information. We have a skillful and competent staff of employees, including authors, researchers, and editors, who ensure they have created accurate and high-quality content before publishing it in various projects. This team has been committed to the food industry for many years and its projects are a testimony to this. When you access and read any of our resources, we guarantee that the information we offer is more than credible.

Table of contents


Is Coffee Gluten Free?

Coffee is one of the most consumed drinks in the world. People drink coffee in order to keep warm, pass time, and bond with friends. Coffee consumption is a common habit in many parts of the world.

Food and nutrition sciences give many benefits of coffee. These include prolonging one’s life, helps the body to process glucose, prevents the likelihood of heart conditions, and boosts the strength of your DNA.

Taking coffee regularly will help in preventing the onset of mental conditions such as Alzheimer's disease. It has been noted that coffee can boost memory, at least in the short term.

A study carried out by Harvard University researchers in 2014 found out that people who take coffee have a lower risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

There are a number of Americans who are affected by gluten. Others complain about wheat allergy and its impact on their health. Such people will have big problems with consumption of gluten foods.

People who are affected by gluten and people with gluten sensitivity should ensure that they take a gluten free diet and gluten free food. Similarly, people with non celiac gluten sensitivity should be careful about what they eat.

Sticking to a gluten-free diet will help them manage or eliminate symptoms that are associated with gluten intolerance.

Coffee, in its natural and pure form, is gluten-free, and therefore, it's naturally gluten free. While instant coffee gluten free is easy to make, not all coffee brands manage to make gluten-free coffee due to the use of additives and flavors that may contain gluten.

During the harvesting, manufacturing, and packaging process, coffee is likely to get gluten contamination. This is more so if the brands share their facilities to manufacture coffee and other products with gluten.

Are all kinds of coffee Gluten Free?

Due to the increase of coffee brands worldwide, there has been a need to manufacture coffee in unique ways to create a distinction from other brands. Some make coffee with plain coffee beans while others make coffee with advanced methods.

New ways of making coffee are still coming up, and you will have many options to choose from.

The following are some of the coffee options they make and whether they are gluten-free or not:

Flavored Coffee

Even though most flavored coffee indicates that they are gluten-free, some coffee flavors, such as hazelnut, vanilla, and others, may not be gluten-free.

A study in Verywell Health states that natural flavors have an alcoholic foundation which gives coffee its flavor. Since ingredients such as barley and malt are used in making alcohol, these flavors may be a source of gluten.

If you have celiac disease or other gluten problems, it is advisable to stick to original coffee products that have no flavors.

Decaf Coffee

According to different coffee websites, there are various ways to decaffeinate coffee to determine if it is gluten-free. These procedures include the Swiss water, carbon dioxide, and solvent processes.

When buying a decaf coffee, it is always advisable to check if they have used any of these procedures to confirm their product is gluten-free.

If the information may not be on the labels, you can check on the brand's official website, or call the manufacturer.

Instant Coffee

Most instant coffees are gluten-free because they undergo the same procedure during manufacturing like the black coffee. In some cases, instant coffee is likely to contain gluten, especially during packaging.

The possibility of gluten contamination on the production and packaging lines is the main problem with instant coffee. It is ideal to check the gluten-free label on your instant coffee product to certify that its gluten level is less than 20 parts per million.

Is Coffee Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

If you have celiac disease, avoiding gluten is essential, and this should be done consistently. You may be wondering if coffee is safe for you to consume. The good news is that coffee is naturally gluten-free, so drinking is safe for people with celiac disease..

Some flavored coffees may contain gluten, so it is essential to read the label or ask the manufacturer if unsure.

Some coffee shops may use flavored syrups or other gluten-containing ingredients. It is always a good idea to ask about the ingredients before ordering.

If you have celiac disease or a gluten allergy, it is recommended to choose certified gluten-free coffee or coffee that is processed in a dedicated gluten-free facility to avoid any potential risks.

Additionally, you can opt for black coffee or coffee with gluten-free milk or creamer to reduce the chances of cross-contamination.

Brands Trusted to Make Gluten-Free Coffee

Anthony’s Instant coffee

If you wish to buy instant and gluten-free coffee, Anthony’s should be your ideal choice because they make gluten-free and organic coffee using pure Arabica beans. Using Arabica coffee beans ensures that the coffee is high quality and pure.

Apart from the absence of gluten on the product, Anthony’s instant coffee is GMO-free and has been grounded to make it simple to dissolve in hot water or milk.

Tierra Coffee

Tierra is a popular brand that manufactures coffee from high-quality and gluten-free organic berries. The company manufactures coffee alongside other products such as tea, dried fruits, and peanuts with no gluten. Tierra Farm produces a range of coffee roasting characteristics and flavors, making multiple options for its consumers.

Another advantage of buying Tiera coffee is that its product is packed with biodegradable materials and is affordable and easily accessible in supermarkets.

Steam Café Flavored Coffee

Team café is a brand known to manufacture organic and gluten-free coffee and regulate the amount of sugar they put in their product. The coffee is suitable for diabetics and others mindful of their sugar intake.

Apart from the lack of gluten, the steam café coffee is manufactured using various characteristics such as keto, paleo, and soy-free-friendly.

It is ideal to note that all the coffee flavors manufactured by steam cafe contain added sugar.

Steam café coffee is available in supermarkets and online through various platforms like Amazon. You can always check it up in the grocery store that is near you.

Rage Instant Coffee

Rage is a brand known for preparing gluten-free instant coffee using Ethiopian highland Arabica coffee beans. One unique aspect of the Rage brand is that they incorporate special gluten-free herbs to enhance the quality of their coffee.

Besides lacking gluten, rage coffee is keto-friendly and is full of natural vitamins that are useful in the body. Rage coffee does not contain artificial flavors but is filled with natural and organic ingredients.

It is suitable for dieters and vegans because it is low in calories and dairy free.