- Fireball is a cinnamon-flavored whisky
- Fireball is considered gluten-free
- This cinnamon-flavored whisky may not be safe for people on a gluten-free diet
- There are several Fireball alternatives for those on a gluten-free diet
Fireball is a popular, cinnamon-flavored whisky, known for its unique, smooth and sweet taste and loved across the country. But, is Fireball gluten-free?
Fireball is considered gluten-free. But, it may not be entirely safe for people with celiac disease and severe gluten sensitivity. It has been made using gluten grains, meaning it may contain traces of gluten. If you are on a gluten-free diet, then it may be advisable to avoid this whisky.
We are an online resource, dedicated to providing those on a gluten-free diet with the most factual, helpful, up-to-date and relevant information. And, we share this information through the various resources that we post on our site, created by our team of dietitians, nutritionists, food coaches and other professionals in this niche. Therefore, every piece of information that we put out there is highly credible.
What is Fireball Whisky?
Fireball is a distinctly flavored whisky, featuring a strong, hot cinnamon flavor. You can enjoy it neat or in cocktails. Also, you can mix it with cranberry, ginger beer, cola, hard cider or any of your preferred mixers.
There are different stories on the origin of fireball. One of the theories that has weight is that a Canadian bartender wanted to warm the cold night that is typical in Canada. Realizing that booze alone was not going to work, he added sugar and cinnamon.
Whether this story is true or not, fireball whisky has become a very popular product. As a matter of fact, this product is endorsed by both CDC and FDA. Some places such as
Nashville are known to consume a high amount of fireball, where the drink goes hand in hand with country music.
This cinnamon-flavored whisky is produced by the Sazerac Company, a privately-owned liquor company based in New Orleans, Louisiana. You can find this smooth whisky in almost every liquor store, grocery store, wine store or any other store that stocks liquor.
There are various ways through which you can consume fireballs. One of the ways is to take it straight, and in addition, it is usually consumed as a shot. It is worth noting that fireball is a common ingredient when it comes to cocktails.
The kin and the cousin to fireball is pappy van winkle.
How is Fireball Whisky Made?
Fireball is formulated using Canadian whisky as the base. It’s further enhanced with cinnamon flavorings and sweeteners, which give it its unique distinct taste and flavor.
However, the manufacturer mentions that they use a proprietary recipe for this whisky. Therefore, it’s almost impossible to tell the exact ingredients used when formulating this whisky.
Specific brands such as fireball cinnamon whisky which have a strong cinnamon flavor are considered an easy shot. They are good for a quick order especially if you are dealing with a large group.
Gluten is a type of protein present in barley, wheat, rye, kamut, durum, spelt, and triticale. As its name suggests, it’s a sticky, glutinous substance, which helps these grains to maintain their shapes. Gluten is also responsible for the stretchy texture of dough.
And, while gluten isn’t really a concern for most people, those with gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance, celiac disease and other gluten-related complications have to tread carefully around this protein.
For instance, if you have gluten-related complications and you happen to eat or drink anything with gluten, it will trigger an autoimmune response, resulting in symptoms like diarrhea, vomiting, bloating, and nausea. Also, you may experience itchiness in your eyes, skin and other parts of your body.
If you have celiac disease, these symptoms will come on and off depending on the way that you consume gluten. When you take gluten foods, these symptoms tend to get worse, and when you avoid gluten foods, you can manage the condition.
Perhaps the biggest issue with gluten-related complications is that there’s no cure or known medication. The only remedy if you experience gluten-related issues is to follow a gluten-free diet.
There is no known cure for celiac disease. Whereas there have been major findings about the condition, none is related to a concrete cure. The hope is that the research being done will lead to a breakthrough on this condition. But as per now, the only solution is to avoid a gluten free diet.
Does Fireball Whisky Have Gluten?
So, is fireball gluten free? Individuals with gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance, wheat allergy and other gluten-related issues have to be careful with their diet choices. As a matter of fact, they have to take consuming gluten free foods and drinks as a lifestyle.
Simply put, you need to vet anything that you eat or drink, to ensure it doesn’t contain gluten or any form of gluten such as gluten proteins. In addition to that, one should take an effort to avoid food which is contaminated with gluten.
And, if you are on a gluten-free diet and you are looking to try out Fireball for the first time, you may be wondering whether this drink is safe for you or not.
Some of the questions that may be crossing through your mind include; does Fireball whisky have gluten? Is Fireball whisky safe for a gluten-free diet? Is Fireball whisky gluten-free?
According to the manufacturer, Fireball whisky is gluten-free and thus, you can always enjoy fireball gluten free irrespective of your gluten status. Technically, whisky is considered gluten-free.
As much as it’s produced using gluten-containing grains, the gluten is usually removed during the distillation process. The distillation process can be very harsh on gluten thereby removing it along the way.
But, this doesn’t mean that every trace of gluten is removed during this process, meaning you can’t be 100% sure that the drink will be gluten-free.
Also, only pure distilled whisky is considered gluten-free. And as we pointed out earlier, the manufacturer of this drink claims that they use a proprietary recipe, meaning you can’t be sure whether this drink has other additives or not.
Is Fireball Whisky Safe for Celiac Disease?
While Fireball whisky may be considered gluten-free, it may not be safe for people with celiac disease and thus, it is not fireball whiskey gluten free. Considering it has been made using gluten grains, it may still contain traces of gluten.
Also, the cinnamon and other flavorings used for this whisky may be cross-contaminated with gluten. Also, cross-contamination may occur during the manufacturing processes, considering this manufacturer produces a wide range of drinks, including those containing gluten.
Contamination in the manufacturing process occurs when equipment is shared, or when the3 handling is not done well.
And, if you are highly sensitive to gluten or you have celiac disease, then there’s a possibility that this drink will trigger adverse reactions in your body. Your best bet is to avoid this drink.
Gluten-Free Alternatives to Fireball Whisky
While Fireball whisky may be considered gluten-free, some trace amounts of gluten may still remain in the drink, considering it has been made using gluten grains. Also, the added flavorings may contain traces of gluten. For example, the gluten free community is not able to decide if fireball with cinnamon flavoring is gluten free or not.
Furthermore, Fireball may also be cross-contaminated with gluten during the manufacturing process.
So, if you have celiac disease or serious gluten sensitivity, then Fireball may not be safe for you. Instead, you should opt for alternatives made from gluten-free grains. And, there are plenty of options out there.
Some of the best alternatives to Fireball include Koval Bourbon Whisky, Queen Jennie Sorghum Whiskey, Hudson Baby Bourbon, Woodford Reserve, Knob Creek Bourbon and New Southern Revival Sorghum Whiskey, among others.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker