Is Gin Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Gin is naturally gluten free since the distillation process eliminates gluten
  • Gin commonly gets  gluten through cross-contamination
  • Juniper is the primary source of flavor in gin
  • Check the gin product for any gluten information before buying it
  • Many trusted brands have been certified to sell gin

Gin is a grain-based alcohol beverage popular worldwide due to its smooth taste and different flavors. So, is gin gluten-free?

Even though gin is made from gluten-containing ingredients, it is gluten-free due to distillation. However, there is a risk of cross-contamination if brands use additional ingredients. Therefore, it is advisable to check any gluten information prior to use of the product.

We aim to provide our readers with accurate and factual information. We have a staff of skilled professionals, composed of authors, researchers and editors, who ensure that the content they create through articles, reviews and other guides is of high quality. This team boasts of a lot of experience in the field of alcoholic beverages. As a result, when you read our resources, we assure you that the information you receive is credible.

Table of contents


About Gin

Gin is often prepared with wheat, rye, corn and barley as the primary ingredients and different brands cannot specify the age of their gin because only one type of gin is typically barrel aged. Due to this, gin has a clear color, except for Geneva gin which is goldish.

Since grains give gin a dry taste, brands mainly use juniper berries as a source of flavor and aroma.

Regarding how to serve or drink gin, most individuals consume it in shots, while others prefer to mix it with other drinks to enhance flavor.

When gin is compared with other alcoholic beverages, it has its advantages and benefits. For example, gin is low in carbs and calories. When carbs and calories are consumed in high quantities, they can negatively affect one’s health, and therefore, they should be avoided.

But, is gin gluten free, and is it safe for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity?

About Celiac Disease and Gluten Sensitivity

The Celiac Disease Foundation identifies celiac disease as a disease which is genetically predisposed and affects someone through ingestion of gluten. The foundation adds that only approximately 30 % of the people receive the right diagnosis.

People who have a close relative with celiac disease have a high chance of developing the condition. In addition to that, one can develop this condition at any age more so when exposure to gluten becomes severe.

Symptoms of celiac disease include diarrhea, bloating, gas, and nausea. As the condition worsens, the damage on the small intestine becomes more pronounced.

People living with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity should follow a gluten free diet. For example, they should avoid gluten containing grains, and products sourced from such gluten grains.

Such people must have a habit of choosing gluten free brands. They must avoid products with wheat, barley, and rye, for example, beer and bread. In many cases, this adherence to a strict diet is going to be lifelong.

Relying on reputable sources of information is a matter of paramount importance. In case one is not able to make a decision, then consulting the doctor is the most prudent thing to do..

Is Gin gluten-free?

Consumers do ask, is gin gluten free and is it considered gluten free naturally? Is gin a gluten free diet? Typically, gin is made from barley, tye, and wheat which are known to contain gluten.

However, the distillation process in making alcoholic drinks such as gin eliminates gluten and other compounds making most of the gin gluten-free. When products are distilled, then they lose gluten making it safe for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.

Additionally, research done with the celiac disease foundation also noted that when gin or any other alcoholic beverage is adequately distilled, it will be free from gluten peptides.

Therefore, the distillation process for such alcoholic beverages makes distilled alcohol safe for people having gluten sensitivities, allergies and celiac disease to consume without getting any negative side effects. It eliminates the majority of the gluten protein.

However, even though most of the brands make gluten free gin, a few brands use other ingredients to add flavor.

These ingredients may contain a high concentration of gluten, so it may be possible for some of them to hide during distillation.

Additionally, other brands use their facilities and equipment to make gin with other products that may contain gluten leading to cross-contamination.

Therefore, it is ideal for checking on gin labels and assessing the kind of ingredients present, the gluten level or whether the product is certified to be gluten-free.

In this process of evaluation, one should be keen to take time in order to identify the right and healthy product for use.

Do all Brands distillate all gluten from Gin?

There are some gluten free gin brands but unfortunately, not all brands can be trusted to distillate all gluten compounds from gin, sometimes.

Therefore, regulatory bodies have done enough research to determine the standard amount of gluten that will not harm individuals who suffer from celiac or have gluten sensitivities.

Typically, bodies such as the food and drug administration are not involved in checking the gluten level or doing food labeling in gluten free gin brands.

Instead, the alcohol, tobacco and firearms bureau is in charge of checking the alcohol volume and ensuring that brands that use ingredients have stated it on their labels for the consumers to be aware.

Additionally, if a brand uses its machines to make gin and other gluten-containing products, they are at risk of causing cross-contamination.

Fortunately, the Gluten-free Certifying Organization (GFCO) has done its research and mandates that the gluten level should be less than 10 ppm.

Brands are known to sell gluten-free Gin

Although most brands are certified to sell gluten-free gin, a few may not follow the standards and regulations needed for their products to be deemed safe. The following are brands trusted and certified to be selling gluten-free gins:

Hendricks Gin

The Hendricks gin is one of the trusted brands known to make gluten-free gin. The main reason why Hendricks gin is gluten-free is because of its unique production process, which involves using two stills in small batches.

One of the stills ensures that it steeps around 11 botanicals for 12 hours before they perform the distillation process. Then, the botanicals are steamed over the spirits in the other still to add flavor. The two stills are later blended to create a gluten-free gin with a distinctive flavor.

The Beefeater Gin

The Beefeater gin is also a certified alcoholic beverage that is carefully processed and distilled. Besides the lack of gluten, the brand mainly adds lemons to obtain the citrus flavor.

Therefore, it is also an excellent choice for individuals who love citrus's lovely taste. Regarding how you can take beefeater gin, most individuals prefer blending it in cocktails since it is known not to dominate the other drinks or ingredients.

Bombay Sapphire Gin

Bombay Sapphire is one of the gins that receive a positive review., and a high rating for that matter. The Beverage Testing Institute gave this drink a rating of 92, quite an impressive score on a scale of a 100. This shows that the company must be getting some things right in the preparation of this product.

Bombay Sapphire makes gluten-free through the use of vapor infusion. Therefore, it is suitable for everyone regardless of the different dietary conditions.

The brand still uses the traditional way of making gin, but the only difference is using the vapor infusion process.

Additionally, Boombay sapphire has not indicated any information on gluten since the regulatory body involved mandates that a brand should only disclose gluten information only when the product contains gluten.