Is Hummus Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Hummus is a highly delicious, healthy and versatile dip
  • Classic hummus is gluten-free
  • Hummus can sometimes be cross-contaminated with gluten
  • Only go for certified gluten-free hummus for pre-packaged hummus

Hummus is a delicious, healthy and versatile dip, which you can serve with numerous dishes. But is hummus gluten-free?

Hummus is gluten-free. The ingredients used to make classic hummus are naturally gluten-free. Also, store-bought hummus should be gluten-free. However, it’s always advisable to check the labels for pre-packaged hummus to ensure there are no gluten ingredients.

Our site features articles, guides and other content pieces, providing the most accurate, relevant and helpful information for individuals with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. And, besides relying on our years of experience on this topic, we also consult various relevant professionals and subject matter experts. With this approach, we can assure our readers that they are getting the most trustworthy information on our site.

Table of contents


About Hummus

Hummus is a delicious Middle-Eastern dip, dish and spread, considered Israel’s unofficial dish. It is typically served with pita bread.

But, it has also gained massive popularity in the country and all across the globe.

This dip is renowned for its high protein content. Also, it’s rich in essential nutrients such as fiber.

Hummus is also a healthy and rich source of carbohydrates and fats, meaning it’s a well-rounded dish.

Because hummus is made from a plant based protein, it carries special health benefits that one will enjoy.

A 100 gram of hummus contains the following: calories, fats, protein, and carbs. In addition to that, hummus contains fiber which enhances the process of digestion. Moreover, hummus is rich in magnesium, phosphorus, iron, and zinc.

Hummus is also a highly versatile dip and dish. You can add it to your lunchbox as you head to work or pack it as a snack for your outdoor adventures like hiking and backpacking. Both adults and children love hummus.

You can eat hummus with a wide range of dishes, including crackers, veggies, hard-boiled eggs, pretzels, rice cakes, chips, carrot sticks and many others. As we’ve mentioned, it’s a highly versatile dip and will be appropriate in different food settings.

What Ingredients Are Used To Make Hummus?

Almost every country will have its own variation of this great delicacy,and the food has adapted to local communities very well. But, the main ingredients remain largely the same – chickpeas or garbanzo beans, sesame tahini, olive oil, fresh lemon juice, and salt.

Some people also garnish it with various spices and herbs. They include coriander, cumin, parsley, and paprika, depending on the taste they want to obtain. These herbs are known to be medicinal in nature and boost the health of the consumers.

It is very crucial when it comes to preventing diseases and boosting the immune system of an individual. In addition to that, medics have pointed out that hummus plays a critical role in fighting body inflammation.

You may also find flavored hummus, featuring ingredients like roasted garlic, roasted red peppers, jalapeno, cilantro avocado, as well as chopped veggies like tomato and cucumber.

The use of lemon juice in free hummus gives it a tart balance. Similarly, extra virgin olive oil gives hummus a well-finished texture.

Depending on the type of hummus, you may avoid some ingredients such as oil if they affect you. For example, the creamy gluten free hummus will give you a creamy texture, and you will not need oil.

It is worth pointing out that hummus can be categorized as hummus vegan. Therefore, if you prefer vegan food, this is an almost vegan diet.

Does Hummus Have Gluten?

Consumers often ask, is hummus gluten free? Is hummus naturally gluten free? Can you make gluten free hummus?

If you follow a gluten free diet, either because you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you have to be cautious of any food that you eat. Eating gluten-containing foods can leave you with wide-ranging complications.

While the exact complications will vary from one individual to the next, the most common ones include stomach and abdominal issues such as diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, stomach inflammation, gas and bloating, skin rash or hives and sneezing, just to name a few.

So, if you have gluten sensitivity and you are looking to try hummus for the first time, you may be asking yourself, is hummus gluten-free? Is hummus safe for gluten sensitivity? Can you take gluten if you have a gluten allergy?

The good news is that hummus is gluten-free and by taking hummus, you are taking gluten free hummus and gluten free hummus recipes.. The main ingredients used to make hummus gluten free – chickpeas and sesame tahini – are gluten-free. So, we can confidently say that hummus is gluten-free.

Is Sabra Hummus Gluten-Free?

Sabra is one of the most popular brands when it comes to store-bought hummus. But is Sabra hummus gluten-free? According to the information posted on the company’s website, Sabra hummus is gluten-free and it will give you a gluten free diet.

Therefore, it’s a great option for people with gluten allergies and gluten sensitivities. So, if you are on a gluten-free diet, then you should be able to enjoy Sabra hummus without experiencing any serious complications.

Can People With Celiac Disease Eat Hummus?

We’ve pointed out that hummus is gluten-free. So, does this mean that it's safe for people with celiac disease? Yes, people with celiac disease can enjoy hummus, as long as it’s the classic hummus made with sesame tahini and chickpeas.

Even if it’s store-bought hummus, it should be safe for everyone on a gluten-free diet, including those with celiac.

Risk 0f Gluten Cross-Contamination

While hummus is considered gluten-free, it may sometimes be cross-contaminated with gluten. For example, items containing gluten-containing foods may be exposed to hummus, either directly or indirectly, leading to cross-contamination.

On the same note, some store-bought hummus brands may process hummus on the same facilities used for gluten-containing foods, leading to gluten cross-contamination.

In light of this, such hummus may contain traces of gluten, making it unsafe for individuals on a gluten-free diet or those with gluten intolerance.

In light of this, some consumers prefer preparing homemade gluten free hummus. Through this, one will deliberately avoid any traces of gluten and any possibility of contamination.

Another advantage with homemade hummus is that you will be able to try different recipes, and you will have time to do this. For example, the use of sesame seeds on traditional hummus gives magical results.

How To Enjoy Gluten-Free Hummus

Classic, hummus is gluten-free. And, it should be safe to eat for anyone with non-celiac gluten intolerance or people diagnosed with celiac disease. But as we’ve pointed out above, store-bought hummus may sometimes be cross-contaminated with gluten.

Also, some types of store-bought hummus may be made using gluten-containing ingredients. Again, such types will be unsafe for individuals on a gluten-free diet. Thus, people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity should avoid such kinds of foods.

So, if you have gluten sensitivity and want to enjoy pre-packaged, gluten-free hummus, you should read the label and check the ingredients. Most brands will mention whether there’s any gluten exposure or not the product.

Companies are making an effort to inform the consumers about the process that they follow in preparing food, and the ingredients used. This is something you should be on the lookout for as a consumer.

Also, it will be highly advisable to only buy certified gluten-free hummus from the store. And, if you still have doubts about store-bought hummus, then you can still go ahead and prepare yours at home, using carefully selected gluten-free ingredients. Through this, you are going to prepare a meal that follows your needs and preferences.