Is Jasmine Rice Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Jasmine rice is known for its nutty flavor, fluffy texture and delightful aroma
  • Pure, natural jasmine rice is gluten-free
  • There’s a risk of gluten cross-contamination for jasmine rice
  • Only buy jasmine rice from reputable gluten-free brands

Jasmine rice is a highly versatile type of rice and a staple in many Asian dishes, renowned for its delightful aroma. But is jasmine rice gluten-free?

Pure, natural jasmine rice is gluten-free. So, it should be safe for those on a gluten-free diet. However, flavored jasmine rice may contain gluten. Also, jasmine rice may be cross-contaminated with gluten. If you are on a gluten-free diet, only buy pure, and sealed, certified gluten-free rice.

We aim to provide people on a gluten-free diet with helpful, reliable and accurate diet-related information, to help them live healthier lives. And, this information comes in the form of guides, easy-to-follow recipes and other content pieces, crafted by our team of professional writers, editors, nutritionists, dieticians and a host of other relevant professionals. As you can see, your information is coming from a highly reliable and trustworthy platform.

Table of contents


About Jasmine Rice

Jasmine rice is renowned for its fluffy texture, unique nutty flavor and delightful aroma. This long-grain rice is a popular accompaniment for stews, curries, and stir-fries, among other dishes and cuisines.

While it’s mainly grown in Thailand, it also grows in other countries like Cambodia, Vietnam and Laos. And, this may explain why it’s popularly known as Asian rice.

Jasmine rice is available in a wide range of colors. While white jasmine rice is the dominant one, you can also find purple, red and black varieties. And, all these iterations have the same unique flavor, each one comes with slightly unique nutritional profiles.

However, red and brown jasmine rice varieties tend to be healthier than white jasmine, since they come with more micronutrients.

Some of the potential benefits of consuming jasmine rice include improving the health of the gut. In addition to that, this product contains phyto-nutrients which help an individual in boosting immunity.

The fact that this product is rich in iron means that one will enhance the functioning of red blood cells.

Folic acid has been associated with a healthy pregnancy. Women who take folic acid reduce complications during pregnancy, a miscarriage for instance. Jasmine rice is a reliable source of folic acid.

Whereas many people strive to lose weight, there are people who try to go in the opposite direction; gaining weight. Jasmine rice is rich in calories, and therefore, it is the ideal product for someone seeking to gain weight. In addition to gaining weight, jasmine rice supplies one with energy.

Also, brown jasmine rice is rich in insoluble fiber, which can help to boost your digestive system, among other important processes in the body.

Cooking jasmine rice is straightforward. You will use the same process as you do with other types of rice.

There is a difference between jasmine rice and basmati rice, but this difference is a matter of geography. Jasmine rice comes from Thailand.

India and Pakistan produce basmati rice including basmati gluten free. Basmati rice is also grown in Nepal.

Understanding Gluten

So, what’s gluten? Gluten is a naturally occurring protein in wheat, barley and a host of other cereals in the grass family. And, you can find it in almost all foods and products made using these cereals, since you can’t separate it from the grain.

For instance, if you were to buy wheat bread, cakes, pastries, biscuits, scones, pancakes or pizza, you can be almost certain that gluten will be present.

And, while gluten doesn’t pose any serious health risk to most people, the situation is entirely different for individuals with a gluten allergy, celiac disease, non-celiac gluten intolerance and gluten sensitivity.

A significant number of Americans have reported an illness and feeling weak after taking products made from wheat. Unfortunately, many of these Americans have not received the right diagnosis, and therefore, they are not conscious about managing their condition.

If you have gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity and you accidentally eat or drink anything with gluten, it can trigger an adverse autoimmune response, resulting in undesirable symptoms.

The most common symptoms of gluten intolerance and gluten sensitivity include intestinal damage, malnutrition, bloating, constipation, diarrhea, vomiting, as well as hives and rash.

The small intestines are the greatest casualty of these symptoms and they tend to get damaged over time.  It is not unheard of to see someone going for surgery due to problems related to celiac disease.

Therefore, individuals with gluten intolerance, celiac disease or gluten sensitivity have to stay away from any gluten-containing food. In short, these individuals have to adhere to a gluten-free diet.

As far as possible, individuals with celiac disease should look out for products which are naturally gluten free.

In addition to that, they should look out for food products which are certified gluten free. For example, a careful look at rice labeling will show if rice is gluten free. Moreover, one must carefully peruse the market in order to look out for alternatives that are safe and healthy.

Does Jasmine Rice Have Gluten?

If you have gluten-related disorders such as non-celiac gluten sensitivity, celiac disease, wheat allergy or gluten intolerance, you need to be very cautious with your food choices.

In light of this, you would probably want to know whether jasmine rice has gluten. So, is jasmine rice gluten-free? Can you eat this rice if you are on a gluten-free diet? Can jasmine rice trigger gluten-allergy symptoms?

The good news is that all types of pure rice are gluten-free. And this also includes pure jasmine rice which is rice gluten free. So, this rice should be safe to consume for individuals on a gluten-free diet.

But, it’s important to note that jasmine rice is only gluten-free in its pure, natural form. If it has been enhanced or enriched with flavors and other additives, then it may not be gluten-free.

Gluten cross-contact and cross-contamination are other issues to watch out for regarding jasmine rice. For instance, the rice may come into contact with gluten-containing cereals during farming, harvesting, or storage.

Rice pilaf may be gluten free or not. If rice pilaf has not been contaminated, then it is gluten free. Sticky rice, also referred to as glutinous rice gluten free, is a gluten free product, and therefore, it is safe for someone having celiac disease.

Is Jasmine Rice Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

Yes, jasmine rice is safe for people with celiac disease. As long as you buy pure, jasmine rice, then you shouldn’t experience any complications or issues after you eat it.

People with celiac disease can take rice vinegar. This is made from rice which is fermented. By taking this product, one will be taking gluten free rice vinegar. Similarly, by taking brown rice, one will be taking brown rice gluten free.

Consumers should note that wild rice is not categorized as rice despite the name, it is actually grass. This product is also gluten free.

However, make sure you buy your jasmine rice from a trustworthy brand. From our discussion above, there’s a risk of gluten cross-contamination for jasmine rice.

Also, if you are following a gluten-free diet, you should avoid flavored varieties of jasmine rice, unless the packaging explicitly states that the product is 100% certified gluten-free.

Top Gluten-Free Jasmine Rice Brands

When it’s time to buy jasmine rice, you will come across dozens of brands in the store or supermarket.

But, you can only be sure your jasmine rice will be gluten-free if you source it from a reputable brand.

Some of the top brands for gluten-free jasmine rice include 4 Sisters, Kirkland Signature, Royal Elephant, Iberia, Rice Select, Pride of India, Lundberg, Viet Quality Foods, Four Elephants, and Ralston Family Farms.