Is Millet Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Millet is gluten-free in its pure and natural form
  • Millet is a raw material used to make a variety of food products
  • Cross-contamination is likely to occur in brands making millet flour
  • Millet is safe for individuals with gluten sensitivities
  • There are trusted millet brands known to make gluten-free millet products

Millet is a versatile and widely used grain which carries a lot of health benefits. But, is millet gluten-free?

Typically, millet, in its natural and pure form, is gluten free. However, cross-contamination may occur when millet is manufactured to make products such as millet flour. Therefore, it is crucial to check any gluten information to avoid getting harmed by gluten if you have any gluten problems.

We are committed to offering our readers well-researched and factual information. Additionally, we have a team of experienced professionals, composed of researchers, writers and editors, who ensure they create high-quality and dependable content. This team comes with a lot of skills as well as experience in the food industry. Therefore, when you read our articles, guides and other published work, we assure you of highly authoritative information.

Table of contents


About Millet

Millet is among the widely used grains throughout continents such as Asia, Africa, Europe and the US in recent years. Millet can withstand harsh climatic conditions and therefore, it thrives well in different geographical places.

The millet is used widely to make different products, such as millet flour and alcoholic beverages, among others products. Some communities use millet as a staple food and other communities incorporate millet in their food products regularly.

Millet also works well as a substitute by becoming the ideal replacement or alternative to different food products.

Typically, most products that use wheat grain as their ingredient can have millet grain act as a substitute. In short, millet is a highly versatile product that can go with different foods.

Regarding millet's nutritional content, it contains nutrients that can be at par or even higher than other cereal grains, and this comes with a plethora of health benefits.

Millet contains nutrients such as proteins, iron, dietary fiber and essential amino acids which help to strengthen the immune system and also help to reduce  free radicals in the body system.

Additionally, the non-starch polysaccharides and fiber help control blood sugar, making millet a great option for individuals with diabetes.

Individuals seeking sustainable weight loss should think about using millet in their food. It leads to a low accumulation of fat making it an effective weight loss strategy. Again, because millet is a high fiber food, it enhances digestion.

About Celiac Disease And Gluten Sensitivity

Gluten is a natural protein that occurs in grains such as wheat. There are some individuals who are known to react to gluten. In connection to this, there are some medical conditions that are associated with reaction to gluten. These include celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and gluten intolerance.

Many cases of stomach disorders associated with gluten are not diagnosed on time. Many Americans are living with gluten problems without their knowledge about it.

If you have celiac disease and gluten sensitivity, then you must follow a gluten free diet. For example, when you are choosing grain, you should choose gluten free grain and avoid gluten containing grains.

This is because gluten free grains are not only healthy, but will also enhance your health. As a person living with gluten sensitivity, you will need to strike a healthy balance between seeking the right nutrition and avoiding some foods.

It is not easy to follow a gluten free diet, but with time, you do get used to it. Again, the gluten free industry has grown in leaps and bounds, and you will have many options to choose from.

Make an effort to choose products which are certified gluten free. With time, and with effort, living a gluten free lifestyle becomes part of you.

Is Millet Gluten-Free?

Consumers do often ask, is millet gluten free? Is millet naturally gluten free? Millet, in its natural and pure form, is gluten-free. Therefore, it is safe for everyone regardless of whether you have celiac disease.

However, since millet cereal grain can also be manufactured to form millet powder, not all brands will make gluten-free millet flour though some will be able to prepare millet flour gluten free.

Some brands will use additives that may contain gluten to improve their product's flavor, thus introducing gluten to their products. The additives are a major source of gluten contamination, and they compromise food which would otherwise be gluten free.

Additionally, other brands have a risk of getting gluten into their flour due to cross-contamination. The process of cross-contamination occurs when brands use their machines to manufacture millet flour as well as other products that may contain gluten. Equipment for food processing is expensive, thereby necessitating sharing.

Therefore, to ensure that the product you are buying is gluten-free, check the label for any ingredients that may contain gluten or any marks that show it is certified to be gluten-free.

Are All Millet Brands Certified To Be Gluten-Free?

Although most brands are known or claim to make gluten-free millet products, few do not follow the standards or regulations required by the involved regulatory bodies.

In the US, for instance, the Food and Drugs Administration body (FDA) ensures that all brands adhere to gluten-related policies.The FDA has a highly professional policy and scientific approaches and is a reliable source of information.

The body mandates that brands that are likely to use ingredients that contain gluten should have gluten levels that are below 20 parts per million. Therefore, 20 ppm is the standard that is considered safe for individuals with gluten allergies and sensitivities.

Another body known as the Gluten-free Certifying Organization (GFCO) also certifies brands to be gluten-free when their gluten level is below 10 parts per million.

Therefore, when looking for any gluten information, check whether the product is certified.

The following are some of the brands that are certified to make millet products:

Arrowhead Mills Millet flour

Arrowhead is a trusted millet brand that makes gluten-free and organic millet flour. Apart from the lack of gluten, the brand focuses on eliminating any other components that may create allergies in people.

The brand's millet flour is also a wonderful source of nutrients such as iron, fiber, and thiamin and is also sodium free. The brand's policy focuses on providing consumers with gluten-free millet flour tested before being distributed to the market.

Therefore, since arrowhead mills is a popular brand, you can get it from supermarkets or online through platforms such as amazon.

Bob’s Red Mill Millet flour

Bob’s red mill millet flour is a popular brand known to sell and distribute an all-purpose gluten-free flour. With millet flour, you can replace 25 % of the regular flour with baking goods such as cakes, rolls, bread and cookies.

According to Bob’s red website, all their products are labeled and certified gluten-free in their special facility.

The gluten-free status is also verified using an R5-ELISA test. Bob's red mill also sells gluten-free millet whole grains in packets, and you can get them in the nearest malls or online on platforms such as Walmart and amazon.

Vitacost Millet flour

Vitacost is a certified brand that makes adaptable and gluten-free millet flour that is certified. One of the greatest advantages of Vitacost millet flour is that you can completely substitute it with regular flour and use it to make your favorite baked goods such as muffins, cakes, cookies and bread, among others.

Even though the texture and flavor will not be the same as regular flour, it still provides a healthy and gluten-free option.

According to the Vitacost website, the brand tests its products in a special lab to determine the gluten level before distributing them. Vitacost millet flour is available in malls and supermarkets or online using platforms like Amazon and Walmart.