- Miso soup is a flavorful and warm traditional Japanese soup
- It consists of dashi stock and miso paste, made from various ingredients
- This soup may be gluten-free or not, depending on the ingredients used
- Homemade miso soup is the best option for people on a gluten-free diet
Miso soup is a flavorful and delicious Japanese soup.Consumers would like to know if it's gluten free or not.
Traditional miso soup is not considered gluten-free. In most cases, the miso paste used to make the miso soup will have gluten-containing ingredients like wheat or barley. There’s also the additional risk of gluten cross-contamination during the preparation process.
We aspire to provide our readers with the most reliable, accurate, helpful and up-to-date gluten-related information possible. To achieve this, our team of health journalists, writers and editors conducts extensive research, interviews subject-matter experts and fact-checks every piece for accuracy, before it goes live. This team comes with vast skills as well as experience. It relies on both theory and fieldwork in making conclusions. You can see that we make every effort to ensure you are getting the most trustworthy information.
Does Miso Soup Have Gluten?
Is miso soup gluten free? Is miso soup naturally gluten free? Miso soup is a popular Japanese soup, which you will find in almost every Japanese restaurant. It has a mildly sweet, umami and salty flavor.
Like many Japanese meals, this soup has colonized different parts of the world with local adaptations being noticed.
The taste can be slightly different, depending on the ingredients used and the preparation methods of the chef. There are different types of miso soup, with each type having a different level of boldness in color and flavor.
Miso soup is served together with scallions and silken tofu. It may be served with a variety of vegetables too and eaten for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It’s usually served before the main course as an appetizer.
It may also be served on its own or as a side dish with other main dishes depending on the needs and preferences of an individual.
Gluten is a type of protein that you will find in some cereals. Consuming foods with this protein can make certain people sick. If someone has celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, and they consume gluten, it will trigger numerous symptoms.
These include bloating and possible chronic diarrhea. In some cases, one may experience weight loss which may be difficult to reverse.
If you are on a gluten-free diet and you are planning to visit a Japanese restaurant soon, you may be wondering; is miso soup gluten-free? Does miso soup have gluten?
To address the above questions, we need to consider the ingredients used to make miso soup. Miso soup has two main parts; miso paste and Japanese soup stock known as dashi.
The dashi can be made of various ingredients, including smoked or dried bonito flakes, anchovies and kombu. It’s made by simmering these ingredients and water and then filtering them out, leaving a delicious, flavorful stock.
Miso paste, on the other hand, is made from fermented soybean paste, which gives the soup the salty, umami flavor. The paste may also contain additional grains such as barley and wheat, which are gluten-containing grains.
So, is miso soup gluten-free? Well, it will depend on the ingredients used to make the paste. If the paste has been made using fermented soybean paste only, then miso soup will be gluten-free, and you will be making miso soup gluten free.
But, if wheat, barley or other gluten grains have been added to the paste, then miso soup won’t be gluten-free.
If you are on a gluten-free diet and you are looking to order miso soup from a restaurant, then you need to confirm that the ingredients that have been used are gluten-free. Through this, you will be able to protect your health.
Can People with Celiac Take Miso Soup?
If you have celiac disease and you are looking to check out a Japanese eatery near you or you are visiting a friend that loves Japanese cuisines, you may be wondering whether miso soup will be safe for you.
Well, whether miso soup will be safe for you or not, comes down to the ingredients used to make the paste. If the paste has been made with gluten-free grains and the entire soup doesn’t contain any other gluten-containing ingredients, then it will be safe for you.
While the soup may have been made with gluten-free ingredients, the possibility of cross-contamination is always there. Some of the equipment used to prepare the soup may have also been exposed to gluten-containing foods, meaning the soup will contain traces of gluten.
Contamination can also occur when food is being transported.
Before you sit down to order miso soup, you should first ask the chef, the restaurant or the server about the ingredients used and the preparation process. The restaurant management will give you the gluten information that will help you make an informed decision.
If they can confirm that the ingredients are gluten-free and there’s no risk of cross-contamination, then you can proceed to place your order.
Can You Make Miso Soup at Home?
Miso soup can be gluten-free or not. It all depends on the ingredients used and the preparation process. This means you can never be completely sure whether the miso soup you are ordering from a restaurant will be gluten-free or not.
Does this mean that people on a gluten-free diet can’t enjoy this soup? Not really. You can also make miso soup at home and enjoy this flavorful Japanese soup.
Making your miso soup at home gives you full control over all the ingredients that will go into the soup, which is extremely important when you have celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or gluten allergies.
Preparing miso soup at home is easy and a miso soup recipe is not difficult to follow. You just need to find a gluten-free miso soup recipe that you can work with. From there, you will source for gluten-free ingredients and proceed to make your gluten-free miso soup at home.
At home, you will have the liberty to use ingredients which will fit you such as the gluten free miso pastes. You can use brown rice miso to give your soup a deep flavor and mugi miso to enhance your soup.
You can also choose the accompaniment that you desire, soy sauce for instance.
Are There Gluten-Free Miso Paste Brands?
If preparing the paste at home feels like too much work for you, you also have the option of buying a pre-made one from the store. But, are there gluten-free miso paste brands?
Fortunately, there are a few brands out there, which offer gluten-free miso paste.
Some of the most popular gluten-free miso paste brands include Miso Master, Hikari miso paste, Marukome miso paste, Awase miso paste, miso paste, Roland miso paste, and Yuho miso paste.
We should point out that companies change their ingredients all the time. So, before you buy miso paste from any of the above brands, make sure you read the product label carefully to verify that it doesn’t have any gluten-containing ingredient.
If possible, you should only go for certified gluten-free miso products and when you cook meals at home, use naturally gluten free ingredients.
Before you buy any product, ensure that you carefully check the gluten free label. In recent years, companies are becoming more transparent in their interaction with customers and they are willing to provide critical information to the consumers.
At the same time, if one is not able to make a decision, then the best thing is to contact a doctor who will be in a position to give reliable information.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker