- Mustard is a popular condiment for hot dogs, burgers and salads
- Mustard is obtained from the mustard seed
- Mustard may be gluten-free or not
- Only go for certified gluten-free mustard if you are on a gluten-free diet
Mustard is a flavorful condiment that you can put on various dishes and recipes. Consumers would like to know if mustard is gluten free or not.
Mustard is not considered gluten-free. While the mustard seeds themselves are naturally gluten-free, some of the other ingredients used to make it may not be gluten-free. Gluten-cross contamination also poses a risk during the manufacturing process.
We remain committed to furnishing individuals on a gluten-free diet with the most up-to-date, relevant, helpful and accurate information. We share this information via the various resources that we regularly post on our site, created by our seasoned team, bringing together board-certified nutritionists, dieticians and other industry experts. This team comes with many years of experience in the food industry and is sure to carry out theory and fieldwork. Our readers can be confident they are getting the most trustworthy information.
Does Mustard Have Gluten?
The mustard condiment that we all know today is made by mixing the powder with vinegar, water, wine and a couple of other spices. Mustard is available in a wide range of flavors.
The flavors will depend on the spices and liquids mixed with the powder. In most cases, the taste ranges from mild to extremely spicy.
If you are on a gluten-free diet, either because you have gluten sensitivity or you’ve been diagnosed with celiac disease, you have to be extremely choosy about everything that you add to your foods.
Gluten refers to a group of proteins found in wheat, barley and rye. It works as a gluey adhesive, which holds foods together helping them to maintain their shape. It also plays an important role in enhancing the texture of some foods.
Unfortunately, it can also be dangerous to people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.
People with gluten-related conditions could experience vomiting, heightened weight loss, bloating, abdominal pain, constipation, persistent diarrhea, brain fog, skin rash and fatigue.
Others complain about being demoralized in their daily commitments such as work and school.
Gluten can lead to stomach inflammation, which will eventually lead to numerous other complications. In rare cases, one may be required to go for surgery in order to correct the damage done to the small intestines.
Removing gluten from your diet is the only effective way of avoiding gluten-related issues and complications if you have celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or gluten allergies.
You can do this by ensuring that the food you take is certified gluten free. You can know this by simply checking the label of the food product. You should also ensure that the specific ingredients used are gluten free.
If you are in doubt about any product, you can always call the manufacturer, and seek clarification about the gluten status of the product in question. Better still, one can seek information from the doctor.
If you love taking your foods with condiments, you may be wondering; is mustard gluten-free? Can you take mustard if you are on a gluten-free diet? Is mustard safe for people with gluten sensitivity? Is honey mustard gluten-free? Is Dijon mustard gluten-free?
Is yellow mustard gluten-free?
Mustard can be gluten-free or not. While mustard seeds are naturally gluten-free, some of the other ingredients used to make it may not be gluten-free. The main area of concern is the vinegar used to make the mustard.
Most types of vinegar will be gluten-free. However, some mustard manufacturers will use malt vinegar as one of the ingredients for the mustard. Barley is one of the ingredients used to make malt vinegar, meaning it contains gluten. So, the question of whether mustard is gluten-free or not will depend on the ingredients used.
Mustard Gluten Cross-Contamination
Just like other food products, there’s also the risk of mustard gluten cross-contamination. The majority of mustard brands also manufacture other products. Some of the other products may contain gluten.
If the same machines were used to manufacture both the mustard and the gluten-containing products, there’s a high chance of gluten cross-contamination – even if the machines are cleaned regularly.
Food products could also be contaminated during handling and transportation.
If you have celiac disease, food which is contaminated with gluten will still have a negative effect on your health.
Is Mustard Safe for Celiacs?
If you have celiac disease, you may be wondering whether mustard is safe for you. Again, this will depend on the ingredients that have been used. If the mustard has been made with gluten-free ingredients, then it may be safe for you.
We’ve also mentioned that there’s a possibility of mustard gluten cross-contamination during the manufacturing process.
Mustard will only be safe for celiacs if it bears a gluten-free certification. If it doesn’t have this label on the packaging, then you should stay away from it – even if the manufacturer insists they used gluten-free ingredients.
How to Find Gluten-Free Mustard
While mustard seeds are naturally gluten-free, some of the ingredients used to make mustard may contain gluten. Also, there’s a risk of gluten cross-contamination during the manufacturing process.
For individuals with gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity, celiac disease or any other gluten-related condition, you can still enjoy this condiment. You simply need to ensure you choose it carefully.
If you are ordering mustard from an eatery, you should avoid mustard that’s served with cups, bowls or other open containers. The reason behind this is that wheat flour present in the air can settle on the mustard, thus contaminating it with gluten.
Also, the chefs may use gluten-containing cutlery to scoop the mustard. To be on the safe side, you should ask for packets instead. That way, you can be confident there won’t be any cross-contamination. The mustard also needs to have a gluten-free label.
If you are buying mustard from a grocery store or supermarket, make sure you only go for products with a gluten-free label on the packaging. A gluten-free certification on the label is enough proof that the mustard is gluten-free, making it safe for people on a gluten-free diet.
Gluten-Free Mustard Brands
When it comes to buying mustard from the supermarket or grocery store, you need to ensure you go for certified gluten-free mustard if you are on a gluten-free diet.
Fortunately, there are numerous options out there if you are in the market for mustard for your gluten-free diet or recipe.
Some of the options to consider include Eden Organic Brown Mustard, Annie’s Naturals, Organicville, Boar’s Head, Koops’ Mustard, and Tessemae’s just to name a few.
Health Benefits of Mustard
For centuries, the mustard has been used for healing purposes and it comes with a plethora of health benefits to the consumers.
To start with, animal and test tube research shows that mustard is effective in killing cancer cells, and has been used to prevent cancer cells from spreading.
People with type 2 diabetes need to ensure that their level of blood sugar is regulated. If someone with type 2 diabetes takes a combination of their medication with mustard, the outcomes are better and optimal.
Contact dermatitis can be difficult to manage and can be a stubborn condition. This condition requires optimal management practices, and mustard helps in this.
Scientists have found out that mustard offers protection against some fungi and bacteria.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker