Is Nutella Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Nutella is a gluten free product that has been in existence for more than 50 years.
  • It is a gluten free product because its ingredients do not contain gluten.
  • Some of the ingredients used to make Nutella are: milk, hazelnuts, and sugar.
  • People who suffer from celiac disease can take Nutella
  • Nutella is also good for people with gluten intolerance because its gluten free                        

Nutella is a popular topping which is consumed in dessert and breakfast the world over. So, is nutella gluten free?

Nutella is a gluten free product because the ingredients used to make it do not contain gluten. Ingredients such as wheat and barley are not present in Nutella, thus making it a gluten free product suitable for people with gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance.

We are committed to giving our readers high quality content which is green and will stand the test of time. We are able to do this due to the dedicated efforts of our members of staff. The staff have been in the food industry for a long time, and this comes with immense skills and experience. Therefore, any time that you seek answers from us, be assured of highly valuable content.

Table of contents


What is Nutella

Nutella is one of the popular products that many households consume today because of its unique sweetness and flavor. This product is manufactured by Ferrero Spa, an Italian company which is based in Alba, Italy.

According to the brand’s website, Nutella is the world’s most loved hazelnut spread. Undoubtedly, with more than 50 years in operation, Nutella has established itself as a brand of choice for many people around the world.

You can take chocolate as it is, or as melted chocolate or in other forms such as nutella chocolate spread.

Benefits of Nutella

Netulla does not have a shortage of benefits. To start with, it lowers the level of cholesterol thereby preventing the medical conditions which are associated with the heart.

Nutella is rich in both calcium and iron. This helps to enhance the overall health of an individual.

The modern study and working environment comes with a lot of stress and depression. Individuals should be sure to use products which will help them cope up with stressful conditions. Nutella is one of such products and is known to reduce the symptoms that come with depression.

If you want to be energetic throughout the day, you need to use foods which will supply you with such energy. Nutella is known to supply the user with a lot of energy for a long time.

The use of nutella for a long time provides an individual with fiber. Fiber is very important in enhancing digestion thereby preventing stomach disorders.

Is Nutella Gluten Free?

The question of whether particular foods and products are gluten free or not has become a subject of great interest today. This is because some of the manufacturers give misleading information about the products thereby confusing the consumers. Again, many manufacturers lean towards sales and ignore the health of the consumers.

We live in a healthy conscious world where whatever people eat matters a great deal. Indeed, there are people who are comfortable consuming certain foods and products while others are not.

A good example of this is gluten free and gluten-containing foods and products. There are people who don’t consume gluten-containing products while others are fine with them.

So, is nutella gluten free? This question is particularly important for someone who has to stick to gluten free products and foods. Well, the quick answer to the afore-mentioned question is that yes, Nutella is gluten free.

Nutella contains simple ingredients including: Palm oil, milk, sugar, cocoa, hazelnuts, vanillin, and lecithin. These ingredients do not have gluten in them, thus making Nutella a gluten free product.

Perhaps, you may be asking how this product maintains a gluten free nature. Actually, it’s very simple- the ingredients used to make Nutella do not contain gluten. This product does not get any of its ingredients from the likes of wheat, oat, or barley, which are known to contain gluten.

So, if you’re a gluten sensitive person, you don’t have to worry about Nutella because it doesn’t contain gluten and is therefore nutella gluten free and will make an ideal gluten free diet.

Even though the product doesn’t have a label that specifies that it's gluten free, consumers who insist on gluten free products should not be worried at all. For any product to be considered as gluten free by the FDA, it has to go through a testing process. The testing process should prove that the product has not more than 20 parts per million of gluten.

If you take a closer look at Nutella, you’ll notice that it’s not certified as gluten free. However, the truth of the matter is that though it lacks this indicator, the product doesn’t contain any gluten in it.

So, if you’re looking for a gluten-free product and Nutella happens to be on your list of potential products, you can confidently choose to buy it since it has the qualities you’re looking for.

Can People With Celiac Disease Eat Nutella?

People with celiac disease should avoid any food or product that contains gluten, for example, gluten containing cereals and gluten grains. They should particularly avoid foods which are made from wheat flour. In addition to that, they should look out for ingredients which are labeled gluten free.

As far as one can, one should look out for products which are certified gluten free. Once a person with celiac disease eats food containing gluten, the immune system attacks the tissues of the person and this can result in major health issues.

The effect of eating gluten-containing foods for a person with celiac disease is damage to the small intestines. Consequently, it becomes difficult to take in nutrients, which is a serious barrier to the realization of quality health.

The good news for people with celiac disease is that they can take Nutella and also use it to prepare other foods at home. The fact that it doesn’t have gluten makes it a healthy product for them. The ingredients used to make Nutella do not contain gluten. Therefore, if you have celiac disease, this product is very safe for you.

However, one should be aware that gluten free pretzels are difficult to find and ingredients derived from this product may contain gluten.

Can a Person with Gluten Intolerance Eat Nutella?

This is a very good question as it involves people with gluten-related sensitivity. From the onset, it’s evident that Nutella does not contain any gluten components because the ingredients that manufacture it are gluten free.

For this reason, a person with gluten-intolerance can eat Nutella and be just fine. Normally, if you have gluten sensitivity, even a little amount of gluten can cause problems to your body. You might experience gas in the stomach and still have diarrhea. These symptoms can worsen with time unless you make a deliberate step to avoid gluten foods.

Thankfully, Nutella does not have any amounts of gluten that can be harmful to a person with gluten sensitivity. It is manufactured in a way that it is healthy for a gluten sensitive person to eat it and be okay.

Home-Made Cooking

With the right skills, you can make nutella at home. There are ample online resources for chocolate hazelnut spread. With homemade cooking, you will use products which are certified gluten free.

If you develop a habit of cooking at home, you will find that you will be saving a lot of money in both the short and the long run. In addition to that, you are going to be using tailor-made recipes that will suit your needs and preferences.