- Olive oil in its pure and natural form is gluten-free
- Olive oil is a popular condiment used in various recipes
- Some brands add flavors that may contain gluten
- Not all olive brands can be trusted to make gluten-free olive oil
- It is simple to prepare gluten-free olive oil at home
Olive oil is an essential and healthy food you can add to various recipes. Consumers would like to know if it's gluten free or not.
Olive oil is gluten-free since it is produced from olives. This indicates that when you are following a gluten-free diet, it is safe to consume. Even though most brands make gluten-free olive oils, a few use gluten additives. It is ideal to check the product's label to ensure it is gluten-free.
Our objective is to create updated, highly researched information that is significant to our readers. We have a skillful staff of personnel composed of authors, editors, and researchers that create relevant and high-quality content concerning gluten-free diets and various foods. When you read any of our published literature, we are confident that the information you receive is credible.
Is Olive Oil Gluten Free?
Is olive oil gluten free? Gluten problems require that one is very careful with the diet consumed. At the center of this is the need to be faithful to a gluten free diet.
If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you may wonder if olive oil is safe to consume. The good news is that pure olive oil is gluten-free and safe for those who need to avoid gluten in their diet, and when you consume it, it's olive oil gluten free.
Olive oil is made from pressed olives, which are naturally gluten-free. Some olive oils may be cross-contaminated with gluten if processed in facilities that handle grains.
The main source of contamination is sharing of equipment during processing of food. Contamination may occur when food is being handled or transported.
To ensure that your olive oil is gluten-free, look for products labeled as such or contact the manufacturer to confirm that their olive oil is produced in a gluten-free facility.
Companies are seeking a better interaction and engagement with consumers, and one of the ways of doing this is through disclosing critical information to the consumers. One can call the consumer to seek information.
It's important to note that flavored olive oils may contain gluten if they are made with ingredients that contain gluten, such as barley malt vinegar. This can have negative consequences on a person with gluten problems.
Be sure to read the products label carefully before purchasing flavored olive oils, and contact the manufacturer if you have any questions about the ingredients. This will ensure that one makes informed decisions on food consumption.
Is Gluten-free Olive Oil Beneficial?
Olive oil is a valuable condiment rich in monounsaturated fats that help decrease cholesterol levels and lower the risk of heart disease.
Olive oil is also a good source of antioxidants, which helps to protect your cells from damage caused by free radicals.
Some of the types of olive oil, beyond plain olive oil, are very unique. Light olive oil comes with a golden hue making it a unique product to use. Others such as infused olive oil and wheat germ oil are worth a trial.
How to Ensure Olive Oil is Gluten free
If you have gluten allergies or celiac disease, you may be wondering if olive oil is safe to consume. The good thing is that olive oil is naturally gluten-free, but there are still some precautions you can take to ensure that your olive oil is free from any gluten contamination.
Many of the specific brands of olive oil are gluten free, extra virgin olive oil for instance.
Here is a guide to help you ensure that the olive oil you are consuming is gluten-free:
Check the Products label and Ingredient List
One of the crucial pieces of information to check before you buy olive oil is to check the product's label. Always read the label of the olive oil you purchase to ensure it is labeled gluten-free.
If the label does not indicate that it is gluten-free, be sure to check the ingredients list for any gluten-containing ingredients.
Look for any Certifications
Some organizations have made a deliberate effort to provide comprehensive information on gluten. Look for certifications such as the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) or the National Celiac Association (NCA) to ensure that the olive oil has been tested and certified to be gluten-free.
Most of these regulatory bodies will certify brands when their gluten level is below 20 ppm.
Buy from Trusted Sources
Purchase your olive oil from trusted sources that you know have strict quality control measures in place to prevent cross-contamination with gluten-containing products.
If you are purchasing olive oil from a bulk bin, be sure to ask the store if they have any measures in place to prevent cross-contamination with gluten-containing products.
While there is a slight possibility of cross-contamination during manufacturing, reputable olive oil brands ensure that their products are gluten-free and safe for consumption. It is essential always to read labels and do your research before purchasing any food items if you have a gluten intolerance or allergy.
In connection to this, do not underestimate the knowledge of the store owner and the employees. You will be surprised to learn that these people have a lot of information on the products that they deal with.
Are there substitutes to Olive Oil?
Since most of the oils are produced from plants, they are gluten free. If you wish to alternate the consumption of olive oil and other kinds of oils, there are various oils in the market.
Some of the oils you can substitute or alternate with olive oil include sunflower oil, canola oil, coconut oil and walnut oil.
Before you purchase any of the oils, ensure it is from a trusted brand.
Brands Trusted to make Gluten Free Olive Oil
Bariani Olive Oil
Bariani is a popular brand that makes extra virgin olive oil using natural ingredients. According to the brand's website, they ensure that their olive oil is purely made from olive oil, making them gluten-free.
One of the setbacks of Bariani olive oil is that it may be more expensive compared to other known brands. You might need to dig deeper into your pocket in order to buy it.
Jovial Olive Oil
Jovial olive oil provides quality olive oil that is prepared to be extra virgin and gluten-free. Jovial olive oil only uses olive oil and other natural ingredients produced in a facility free from gluten products and other common allergens.
Since Jovial is a popular brand, you can get its products from groceries and supermarkets.
Palermo Olive Oil
Palermo olive oil is an ideal brand known to make gluten-free olive oil. According to their website, they usually share their equipment in manufacturing olive oil and other gluten-containing products; their products have been certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), certifying brands of less than 20 parts per million of gluten level.
Pompeian Olive Oil
Pompeian is one of the most used olive oils in stores and supermarkets. One of the benefits of Pompeian olive oil is that it comes with a variety of olive oils that are all proven to be gluten-free.
Is it Possible to prepare Olive Oil at Home?
If you prefer to make olive oil at home, it is possible and affordable because you will only require fresh oil and other kitchen equipment, including a blender, mallet, cheesecloth, and mesh strainer, among other equipment.
One of the advantages of making olive oil is that it will be gluten-free if you use clean equipment. If you need help preparing olive oil at home, you can follow various tutorials online and make gluten-free olive oil.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker