Is Panko Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Panko is not gluten-free since it is made from wheat
  • There are Panko varieties made from gluten-free ingredients
  • There is a difference between regular breadcrumbs and Panko
  • The GFCO regulates the standard gluten level in gluten-sensitive products
  • There are trusted gluten-free Panko  products

Panko are a category of breadcrumbs essential in giving baked or fried food a crispy texture. So, is Panko gluten-free?

Since wheat is the main ingredient used to make panko, it contains gluten making Panko contain gluten. Therefore, it is not advisable for individuals having celiac or who are gluten sensitive to use panko. Luckily, they can buy gluten-free Panko that is available in the market.

We are committed to ensuring that our readers receive accurate and up-to-date information. Additionally, we have a team of competent personnel comprising authors, reviewers, editors, and researchers, who ensure the content they publish in guides and other literature is reliable and high-quality. Our team comes with a lot of skills and experience. As a result, when you read our published guides, the information you receive is highly authoritative.

Table of contents


About Panko

The Panko is a particular form of breadcrumbs originating from Japanese culture. It was a very common Asian cuisine, but today, many parts of the world use it because of its crispy nature.

Panko bread is prepared using electric current and baked in an oven, unlike other crumbs.

Then, the bread is dried and ground into flakes to make the breadcrumbs. Panko gives a crispy feeling to Japanese foods such as breaded chicken and other Japanese delicacies.

Even though Panko has low nutritional value, it contains nutrients that help lower blood pressure and boosts your immunity.. Some medics recommend the use of panko for building muscle because it contains a safe amount of fat. Moreover, panko contains enzymes which aid in brain performance and thinking.

This food is not an expensive option to use, making it sustainable for food needs.

Panko breadcrumbs vs. Regular breadcrumbs: What’s the difference?

Even though the traditional Japanese breadcrumbs and regular breadcrumbs have many characteristics in common and work similarly, there are some differences when you compare the 2 crumbs. The following are the notable differences:

Preparation Process

The preparation process between Panko and regular breadcrumbs is different because Panko uses bread without the crust passed through an electric current and then placed in an oven. After the bread is dry, it is crushed to form Panko crumbs.

When it comes to the regular breadcrumbs, the bread is used as a whole, with the crust, and it is toasted and crunched to form fine particles of bread crumbs, therefore, when regular breadcrumbs have a high gluten level than Panko since the preparation process uses the bread.

There are various ways of serving panko. As a matter of fact, there is a lot you can experiment in serving traditional panko including different ways of sticking the crispy topping.

The Texture

Regarding the texture, Panko has coarse crumbs resembling fine silver. These characteristics help individuals to choose the kind of crumbs to use depending on how they want their meal to be.

For instance, if you wish to have a more crunchy feeling on your meal, it is advisable to use Panko since it has coarse particles, whereas if you want low crispiness, it is advisable to use regular breadcrumbs.

Absorption and Retention

Due to the coarse nature of the Panko, it absorbs and retains less oil than regular breadcrumbs. Therefore, Panko is suitable for frying meals, while regular breadcrumbs are suitable for baking food.

Raw material

Typically, regular breadcrumbs are mainly made from white bread. But the Panko can be made from bread, ground rice, or nuts. Therefore, the Panko has a wide variety of raw material that produces it compared to regular breadcrumbs.

About Celiac Disease

Celiac disease manifests itself in different ways among different people. Common signs and symptoms of celiac disease include chronic diarrhea, bloating, gas, constipation, nausea, and constant pain in the abdomen.

Celiac disease is caused by taking food containing gluten. In addition to that, there are some types of genes in an individual which carry a higher disposition to having celiac disease. Moreover, some stomach infections, especially at an early stage in life, can lead to the onset of celiac disease.

Symptoms of celiac disease come and go depending on how one consumes gluten or avoids it.

As an individual with celiac disease, you must be careful about the food you consume, whether dry food or fried foods.  You must be making a deliberate effort to determine which food is gluten free, and which food is not gluten free.

Today, with just a little effort, you will be able to know if a certain food is gluten free. This article will guide you to understand more about panko, and you will be informed about if this product is gluten free.

Is Panko gluten-free?

Unlike the original breadcrumbs, the Panko is made from a special bread that electrically bakes without the crusts. The bread is then dried and crushed to form Panko.

Consumers may want to know, is panko gluten free? Is there gluten free panko? Even though Panko does not use standard white bread, it still contains gluten but not in high quantity as the other kind of breadcrumbs.

Luckily, with improvements in production and technology, some brands make Panko without using breadcrumbs.

If you are not able to find what you want in the market, you should consider homemade gluten free panko. With this, you can make the choice that you want including the food processor of your choice.

The fact that the breadcrumbs are homemade does not mean that you will not be able to maintain their crispy texture. You just need to be informed and careful about the process.

The following are the popular Panko that are gluten-free:

Kikkoman Gluten Free Panko

The Kikkoman is popular and suitable for individuals sensitive to gluten because it lacks wheat and other ingredients that could contain gluten. Instead, it uses rice flour, dextrose, and peas.

The product is also free of eggs and soy and has 3 grams of protein per serving. The Kikkoman is not seasoned, and you can add seasonings depending on your preferences, such as herbs, cheese, or spices.

The Pork Panko Gluten-Free Crumbs

The pork Panko is one of the gluten free panko breadcrumbs because it is entirely made of pork rinds that are dried and finely crushed. It provides lovely crumbs only made with pig skin and rock salt.

This brand is ideal for breading meals such as fried chicken, fish, and your favorite recipes requiring breadcrumbs.

The only drawback of using this product is the need for more seasoning and flavor. But you can add your herbs, cheese, or spices, depending on your preferences. The pork Panko crumbs are found in online shops such as amazon and physically in shops and stores.

The 4C Gluten Free Panko

The 4C Panko is a gluten-free type of breadcrumb made from ground rice. The grounded rice gives your cuisine a light, crispy feeling that makes the meal sweet. The 4C has been certified by the gluten-free certifying organization (GFCO) to be gluten-free.

The 4C gluten-free panko is available online through Amazon, eBay, and Walmart, but you can check and buy it in large shopping malls.

Use of Almond Flour and Rice Krispies

The almond flour is a good substitute for gluten free panko breadcrumbs. It has a nutty flavor and coarse texture, and most importantly, it is a gluten free product. This product will help you come up with gluten free bread.

There are some who prefer using rice krispies. This food is pulsed in the food processor till it is ground well. However, note that this food cannot be categorized as gluten free, much as it may not harm someone with celiac disease or any other type of gluten sensitivity.