- Sriracha is a spicy, mouthwatering sauce that you can add to almost any food
- Sriracha is made using gluten-free ingredients, meaning it’s also gluten-free
- People on a gluten-free diet should only go for certified gluten-free sriracha
- Homemade sriracha is also an option if you can’t find certified gluten-free
Sriracha is a spicy and delicious condiment originating from Asia. Consumers would like to know if it's gluten free or not.
Sriracha is gluten-free. It’s made using gluten-free ingredients, meaning it should be safe for people with gluten sensitivity, celiac disease, and gluten allergies. However, if you are on a gluten-free diet, it’s important to read the ingredients list since ingredients may change anytime.
We are dedicated to furnishing people on a gluten-free diet with factual, science-backed, helpful and up-to-date information. We share this information through articles, guides, recipes and other content pieces. All the content pieces that we publish are crafted by our top-notch content creation team, bringing together subject-matter experts like nutritionists, dieticians and other industry professionals. So, we always ensure we provide our readers with the most trustworthy information.
Does Sriracha Have Gluten?
The consumption of sauces have taken the American diet by storm and sauce gained popularity over time. This is due to the benefits and the taste that sriracha hot sauce carries.
Is sriracha gluten free? Sriracha is a spicy sauce which is delicious and mouth-watering, with origins in Southeast Asia. You will find huy fong sriracha hot sauce in almost every Thai restaurant.
You may also come across it in eateries that offer pizza and breakfast items, as well as sandwich shops.
It is produced by Huy Fong Foods, a hot sauce company which is based in California. Some consumers like calling it rooster sauce.
Also, it’s the go-to condiment for most people, whenever they need something spicy. You can add it to eggs, popcorn, sandwiches, or salad dressings. It’s a highly versatile sauce, which you can add to almost any type of food.
The ingredients in sriracha include distilled vinegar, sodium bisulfite, salt, sugar, garlic, chili, sugar and xanthan gum.These ingredients give the product an exotic taste and flavor thus enhancing its flavor profile.
Sriracha is rich in calories, proteins, fat, and carbohydrates, and these are nutritious components for an individual.
The consumption of chili peppers and hot sauces work very well in supporting weight loss objectives, and the natural flavors enhance the health of the consumers.
Scientists point out that the consumption of chili sauces lead to a better blood circulation, and this applies to other spices too.
If you are following a gluten-free diet, either because you have gluten sensitivity, celiac disease or gluten intolerance, you understand the importance of paying particular attention to anything that you put in your body. You must take seriously the habit of avoiding gluten.
People with celiac disease have to be keen to take foods which are certified gluten free. Some companies have a very transparent policy on the use of gluten foods, and they inform their consumers about this as much.
Gluten intolerant people need to seek information from the manufacturer or the doctor.
Failure to do this will mean that one will keep on experiencing symptoms associated with gluten such as bloating of the stomach.
If you are looking to try out this sauce for the first time and you are on a gluten-free diet, you may be wondering; is sriracha sauce gluten-free? Does sriracha sauce have gluten? Is sriracha rooster sauce gluten-free? Can you add sriracha sauce to your food if you are on a gluten-free diet? Is sriracha naturally gluten free?
The answers to the above questions lie in the ingredients used to make this hot sauce. Sriracha is made using chilies, vinegar, sugar, garlic, and a variety of spices. While there are different varieties of sriracha out there, the Hoy Fong sriracha is arguably the most popular.
Ripe chilies are ground and then mixed with vinegar. From there, salt and preservatives are added to the mixture.
Other ingredients that may be added to this mixture include garlic, sugar, potassium sorbate, and a couple of spices. Xantham gum is also added to thicken the mixture slightly and give it the right consistency.
To the question of whether sriracha is gluten-free, the answer is yes. All the ingredients used to make sriracha are gluten-free, meaning this spicy, hot sauce is also gluten-free. If you have gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance or gluten allergies, then sriracha should be safe for you.
You can now go ahead and add to your hot dogs, hummus, gluten-free avocado toast, soups and stews, salad dressings or any of your favorite dishes. This will give you a lot of health benefits.
However, the original sriracha sauce may be contaminated. This often happens if there is sharing of equipment and if due diligence is not done in handling the food. The bad thing is that consumers cannot easily know that the foods they take are contaminated.
Can People with Celiac Take Sriracha?
Sriracha is considered gluten-free since it’s made with gluten-free ingredients. So, does this mean that sriracha is safe for people with celiac disease? Sriracha should be safe for people with celiac disease.
But, it’s important to conduct due diligence to ensure the sriracha you are taking is 100% gluten-free. To do so, you should review the ingredients list on the bottle to see whether there are any gluten-containing ingredients.
Always be sure to exercise caution when buying food products in order to avoid negative health consequences. If you can, check out for products which are preservative free.
You should also go a step further to check whether the sauce has been manufactured in a dedicated gluten-free factory. A dedicated gluten-free facility will considerably reduce or even eliminate the possibility of gluten cross-contamination. It will ensure that the food you take is not contaminated.
It’s also important to check whether the sauce has been certified gluten-free or whether it has a gluten-free label. If the sauce ticks all these three boxes, then it should be safe for people with celiac disease or those with severe gluten sensitivity.
What Sriracha Brands are Gluten-Free?
If you have celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or gluten allergies and you are looking to try sriracha sauce for the first time, you should only go for certified gluten-free sriracha. With this approach, you can be sure that you will not experience any gluten-related complications after using sriracha.
Fortunately, there are some brands out there, which sell certified gluten-free sriracha, though there are not many brands. They include Sky Valley sriracha sauce, Thai Kitchen sriracha, Yellowbird Organic sriracha, and Natural Value organic sriracha sauce.
These four brands are among the few on the market that sell certified gluten-free sriracha sauce.
There are several other brands out there, selling sriracha sauce that doesn’t have any gluten ingredients. Though they are not many, they are worth checking out.
While sriracha sauce from these brands may not be safe for individuals with celiac disease or severe gluten sensitivity, those with mild gluten intolerance can enjoy this sauce without any complications.
These brands include Huy Fong sriracha, Trader Joe’s sriracha sauce, Kikkoman hot sriracha chili sauce, Dragonfly sriracha hot chili sauce, Shark Brand sriracha chili sauce, Sriraja Panich chili sauce, Tabasco sriracha sauce and Lee Kum Kee sriracha chili sauce.
Can You Make Sriracha Sauce at Home?
Yes, you can sriracha at home and eating sriracha at home will be fun. If you are on a gluten-free diet but you can’t find any of the gluten-free sriracha sauce brands that we’ve recommended, it doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy this delicious and spicy condiment. You also have the option of preparing yours at home.
The ingredients for homemade sriracha sauce are readily available. Also, the entire process is simple and fun.
You get to decide all the ingredients that will go into your sriracha and control over the entire process, meaning you will ensure it’s 100% gluten-free. For example, you can add red jalapeno peppers or worcestershire sauce ingredients to your sauce.
There are dozens of gluten-free sriracha recipes cooking online and they have comprehensive information. You only need to select one that you like and then customize it according to your preferences.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker