Is Tequila Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • When tequila is made naturally using the required ingredients, it is gluten-free
  • Tequila has its origins in Mexico
  • Tequila can have gluten through contamination
  • There are many trusted tequila brands in the US
  • Some regulations guide the gluten level in tequila

Tequila is one of the most popular alcoholic beverages and a high quality and tasty drink.. So, is tequila gluten free?

Tequila is gluten-free as long as the brands use the required traditional ingredients. Therefore, the alcoholic beverage is safe for individuals with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. However, not all brands invest in making gluten free tequilas, others use additives that may contain gluten.

Our objective is to ensure that we create well-researched and accurate information for our readers. Additionally, we have a staff of competent employees, which consists of writers, editors, and researchers, to ensure that the content they publish in articles and other literature is factual and of high quality. This team boasts years of experience in alcoholic beverages. Therefore, when you read our resources, we guarantee you of green and credible information.

Table of contents


About Tequila

Tequila is a popular alcoholic beverage that has its roots in Mexico. Both the US and Canadian laws recognize tequila as originating and manufactured in Mexico.

It was first produced in the 16th century when the first distillery was built. The only source of tequila was agave fruits, which are still the main source of the product.

Tequila started gaining popularity in the US in the 1980s when manufacturers made other distilleries.

Even though tequila is known to cause liver cirrhosis when consumed excessively, it also has a crucial role in helping with digestion. The improvement in digestion occurs when insulin promotes the growth of helpful bacteria in the digestive tract.

Additionally, it helps in the growth of bones because agave fruit contains magnesium and calcium.

Regarding how to take tequila, you can serve tequila in different ways as long as the drink you are using does not contain gluten. Some prefer taking it alone with ice cubes or lemon, while others prefer taking it through cocktail drinks.

The best tequila habit is taking it in moderation. Through this, you will benefit immensely from the drink, and at the same time, avoid its side effects.

About Celiac Disease and Gluten Sensitivity

The stomach is an important part of the body, partly because of the large amount of work it handles every day. For example, the digestion process is a constant process, and occurs every time one consumes something.

With this work and high activity, comes vulnerability, and exposure to medical problems. Many Americans live with a certain stomach disorder or the other. Others live with more than one stomach disorder. Others live with medical conditions that have not been diagnosed.

Some variables worsen stomach disorders, for instance, age and a sedentary lifestyle. Late diagnosis makes it very difficult to manage certain stomach disorders with some Americans accepting their fate as having chronic conditions.

Celiac disease and gluten sensitivity are one of the main stomach disorders facing Americans. The two conditions are caused by the reaction of the immune system with gluten.

Wheat allergy is also grouped as one of the stomach disorders which are associated with the consumption of gluten.

If you have celiac disease, or any form of gluten sensitivity, then you should be sure to take gluten free food, and if possible, foods which are naturally gluten free.

The only known solution to the management of celiac disease and gluten sensitivity is to avoid consuming gluten, and taking a gluten free diet. The same case applies to the use of alcoholic drinks, it must be gluten free alcohol.

Of particular importance is the ability to read instructions and read products which are labeled gluten free.

It is important to practice due diligence because marketing and advertising can be misleading. Following data from established sources is a matter of paramount importance.

Failure to follow a gluten free diet will mean that one is going to be experiencing recurring symptoms.

Is Tequila gluten-free?

If tequila is prepared purely using its traditional ingredient, it is gluten-free,and in fact, naturally gluten free. Tequila is made from blue agave plant and fruit, which does not contain gluten, and is therefore considered gluten free.

Therefore, individuals with celiac disease and other gluten sensitivities can take tequila, even if additional sugars have been added to enhance its taste and flavor.

However, not all brands prepare tequila in the same way, some use additional ingredients that could contain gluten and even though the distillation process helps in the removal of gluten, the process does not guarantee all of its removals.

Additionally, some brands use their machines and other equipment to produce other products. Therefore, there is a risk of contaminating tequila with gluten, mainly if the preparation of other related products uses gluten ingredients.

What Regulations guide the gluten level in Tequila?

In the US, two central regulatory bodies help to ensure that processed food and drinks are safe for human consumption. One regulatory body is the food and drugs administration (FDA), which provides that all gluten-sensitive food has gluten that is below 20 parts per million (ppm).

If the product is likely to get gluten due to cross-contamination, the Gluten-free Certification Organization (GFCO) is involved and mandates that the product should have less than 10 ppm. If the tequila brand passes the gluten test, they become certified and approved by these regulatory bodies.

It is always good to rely on data from such established organizations more so on matters pertaining to health.

Do all Brands make gluten-free Tequila?

Even though most brands ensure that tequila is gluten free, a few gluten free tequila brands make cheap and uncertified tequila that could contain gluten. Other consumers use mixed drinks containing tequila which could contain gluten.

Other brands of distilled alcohol do not fully implement the distillation process, and if some ingredients contain gluten, they will hide it even after distillation occurs. The following are the top tequila brands that are certified to be gluten-free:

The Hornitos Tequila

The Hornitos are a popularly known tequila brand headquartered in Chicago. The Hornitos tequila is unique compared to other kinds of brands because their tequila is made to have a variety of flavor profiles.

Typically, the brand combines vanilla with the rich flavors of the agave to create a balanced sweetness. The hornitos have been certified to be gluten-free since no additives contain gluten.

Therefore, it is safe for individuals having celiac disease and other related gluten conditions. Besides being gluten free, tequila is reasonably priced, thus providing excellent value for your money.

Sauza Tequila

Sauza tequilas are a unique gluten-free brand that uses gentle extraction in boiling fluids from agave fruits and the pia. This blend gives the Sauza tequila a pure and natural taste.

The company also tests its products to ensure that they are gluten-free and has been certified by the FDA to have a gluten level of less than 20 ppm.

Sauza has a similar distillation and manufacturing process to the hornitos but has a light taste. Sauza has a watery texture with varieties of flavors added from ingredients such as apple and jasmine.

1800 Tequila

The 1800 tequila provides one of the smoothest gluten-free tequila, and it is perfect for individuals who don't like strong liquors.

It is made from gluten-free ingredients, including the Penca leaf, the agave plants and fruits, and other flowers that enhance its flavor to a smooth taste. The 1800 tequila is certified to be gluten-free.

The brand ensures that the tequila is of high quality by taking control of the production process at each step. Therefore, if you wish to buy a gluten-free tequila that will not require blending with other drinks, then the 1800 tequila is the perfect option.