Is Tofu Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Tofu is a great source of proteins for vegans and vegetarians
  • Pure, plain tofu is gluten-free
  • There’s a risk of gluten cross-contamination
  • Read product labels carefully when buying tofu if you have gluten sensitivity

Tofu is one of the best protein sources for vegans and vegetarians. Consumers would like to know if this is gluten free or not.

Pure, plain tofu is gluten free. Flavored tofu may contain gluten and may contain soy sauce and other gluten-containing ingredients. Always check the packaging for the ingredients used or simply buy certified gluten-free tofu.

We are dedicated to providing people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity with helpful, accurate and reliable food-related information. We share this information through our short, authoritative and easy-to-read guides and articles. All these content pieces are created by our highly accomplished team, bringing together experts from all relevant fields. As you can see, the information we are bringing you is coming from a credible and trustworthy source.

Table of contents


Does Tofu Have Gluten

Tofu is a food which has a mild flavor and a firm, slightly spongy texture that can be used in a variety of dishes.

It can be grilled, baked, fried, sautéed, or even eaten raw. It is an excellent source of protein and contains all nine essential amino acids that your body needs to function properly. It is also a good source of iron, calcium, and magnesium.

There are different types of tofu available in the market, including silken, firm, and extra-firm tofu.

Silken tofu is softer and has a creamier texture, while firm and extra-firm tofu are denser and hold their shape better when cooked.

If you are looking to reduce animal protein from your diet, either because you want to start following a vegetarian diet or for personal reasons, you will have several meatless options to consider. Tofu is one of them.

Gluten problems have become quite common. These include cases such as celiac disease and other types of gluten sensitivity. Symptoms of these conditions include anemia, diarrhea,and stomach upsets.

If you also happen to have gluten sensitivity or you are gluten intolerant, you may be probably asking yourself, is tofu gluten-free? Does tofu have gluten? Is tofu safe for people following a gluten-free diet?

Pure, plain tofu is gluten free. As we pointed out earlier, tofu is only made using three main ingredients. These are soybeans, water as well as salt that helps to curdle the soymilk.

Considering that pure tofu is quite bland and tasteless, some manufacturers will add some flavorings, sauces and marinades, in an attempt to enhance its taste.

One of the most popular additives is soy sauce. Soy sauce contains wheat as an ingredient. So, any type of tofu with such additives and flavorings won’t be gluten-free, meaning it’s not safe for people with gluten sensitivity and gluten intolerance.

Tofu Gluten Cross-Contamination

We should also point out that as much as tofu is made using gluten-free grains, it doesn't mean that it will be 100% gluten-free. Just like any other gluten-free food out there, there’s the risk of cross-contamination.

If you order tofu from a restaurant and it’s prepared using the same equipment used for gluten-containing foods, it will be cross-contaminated with gluten, making it unsafe for people with gluten sensitivity.

This is more so if the chef and the rest of the restaurant crew are not careful on how they handle food.

Tofu can also be cross-contaminated with gluten during farming, processing, storage, and manufacturing.

Is Tofu Safe to Consume for People with Celiac Disease

Making tofu involves soaking and grinding soybeans, followed by boiling and straining the mixture to create soymilk. The soymilk is then curdled with a coagulant, such as calcium sulfate ornigari, to form tofu.

The entire tofu manufacturing process does not involve any gluten-containing ingredients or processes, making tofu a safe and gluten-free option for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Overall, tofu is a great protein source for those following a gluten-free diet. Just be sure to check the label and ingredient list to ensure that no gluten-containing ingredients have been added during the manufacturing process.

How to Buy Gluten-Free Tofu

Pure, plain tofu is gluten-free and safe for people with gluten intolerance and gluten sensitivity. As we’ve mentioned above, you can’t rule out cross-contamination. So, how do you ensure that you only buy gluten-free tofu?

Whether you are buying tofu from a grocery store, food store, health store or supermarket, you should only go for labeled gluten-free tofu. You will see this certification on the product’s label.

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulates the gluten-free label. It indicates that the product you are purchasing has less than 20 ppm of gluten – the acceptable safe amount for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

To give yourself more reassurance, you can go for tofu certified by a third-party organization like the Gluten-Free Certification Organization or GFCO.

This certification body employs strict standards when it comes to certifying foods. According to the information posted on its website, the GFCO will only certify a product gluten-free if it has a maximum of 10 ppm of gluten.

If the gluten-free certification label isn’t there on the product, you should go through the list of the ingredients to see if any gluten-containing ingredients have been used. Avoid any tofu with any gluten-containing ingredients if you are on a gluten-free diet.

Top Gluten-Free Tofu Brands

Buying tofu from gluten-free tofu brands is the only way to ensure you won’t end up with complications after consuming it if you have gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. The good news is that you won’t have a hard time finding a gluten-free tofu brand, since there are numerous options on the market. Some of the major gluten-free tofu brands include:

House Foods Tofu

House Foods has a vast selection of organic and premium tofu. You can buy Premium Tofu Soft, Premium Tofu Firm, Premium Tofu Medium Firm, Premium Tofu Extra Firm, Organic Tofu Firm, Organic Tofu Cubed Super Firm, Organic Tofu Extra Firm and Organic Tofu Grilled Super Firm, among others.

According to the company, their tofu is made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. It’s also tested at least once per year to around five ppm. House Foods seasoned tofu is gluten-free, unlike some of the other brands out there, making it a safe option for those on a gluten-free diet.

Nasoya Tofu

Nasoya is yet another option for individuals looking for gluten-free tofu brands. Its product line includes Nasoya Extra Firm Tofu, Nasoya Silken Tofu, Nasoya Firm Tofu and Nasoya Extra Firm Twin Pack Tofu. All their tofu is made in gluten-free facilities, thus eliminating any possibility of gluten cross-contamination.

Dragonfly Foods

Dragonfly produces tofu in a wide range of flavors and textures. Its product line includes Organic Medium Tofu, Organic Marinated Tofu, Organic Smoked Tofu, and Organic Super Firm Tofu. According to the information posted on this company’s website, all their tofu varieties are gluten-free.


Morinaga is renowned for its classic Japanese-style tofu. Its tofu is certified gluten-free by the GFCO. It comes in a wide range of varieties, including light, silken, soft and firm, among others. Morinaga tofu is tested to less than five ppm gluten, meaning it will be a great choice for those with celiac disease or anyone highly sensitive to gluten.

Hodo Foods

Hodo Foods has a wide range of delicious, ready-to-eat and ready-to-cook tofu products. All their tofu products are labeled gluten-free. They include Hodo Organic Extra Firm Tofu, Hodo Tofu Cubes Chermoula Moroccan Organic Tofu, Hodo Organic Firm Tofu, Hodo Southern Barbecue Tofu Cubes and Hodo Organic Vegan Moroccan Tofu.