- Twisted Tea is among the popular alcoholic beverage in the market
- Twisted Tea is not gluten-free since it consists of malt as an ingredient
- Twisted Tea is unsafe for people with celiac disease and other related problems
- There are several gluten-free alternatives to Twisted Tea in the market
- Look for products that have certifications from reputable organizations
Twisted Tea is a popular alcoholic beverage that is unique and flavorful. But beverage consumers have raised concerns about whether Twisted Tea is gluten-free.
Twisted Tea is considered not to be gluten-free because the Boston Beer Company, manufacturer of Twisted Tea, has stated that their beverages are made with malted barley known to be active in gluten. It is unsafe for individuals with celiac disease and other gluten allergies or sensitivities.
We are committed to ensuring that our readers acquire updated and factual information. We have a staff of skillful personnel from various fields of expertise who have researched gluten and processed foods and drinks effectively. As a result, when you access any of our content through articles and other published literature, you will receive highly authoritative information.
Is Twisted Tea Gluten Free?
Gluten-free diets have become increasingly popular, with many people opting to avoid gluten even if they do not have any gluten problems or sensitivities. This lifestyle has increased accessibility to gluten-free products, including beer and other alcoholic beverages.
One of the most common concerns about Twisted Tea is whether it is gluten-free. According to the manufacturer, Twisted Tea is brewed with malted barley making it not to be gluten-free.
There are other risks of cross-contamination and adding additives that may increase the gluten level in Twisted Tea as well. Even though the Food and Drugs Administration (FDA) have certified Twisted Tea to have 5 ppm of gluten, it still poses a risk to some consumers.
What Ingredients and Flavors constitutes Twisted Tea
The original Twisted Tea is made from malt barley, lemon, and Tea. Since various companies are known to make Twisted Tea, other companies are not compelled to disclose their ingredient lists. For the flavors, Twisted Tea is available in multiple flavors, including Original, Half and Half, Raspberry, Peach, and Mango. The Original flavor is made with black Tea, while the other flavors are green Tea. Each flavor has its unique taste and aroma and is designed to appeal to different palates.
Can individuals with mild gluten problems consume Twisted Tea?
While Twisted Tea is not considered gluten-free, it may be suitable for individuals with gluten sensitivity or intolerance who can tolerate small amounts of gluten. It is ideal to consult with a healthcare professional before consuming any products if you have gluten sensitivity or intolerance.
Can individuals with Celiac Disease consume Twisted Tea?
Since Twisted Tea consists of malt as a gluten source, it is unsafe for people with celiac disease and other gluten conditions. For individuals with celiac disease, consuming Twisted Tea can cause various symptoms, including abdominal pain, bloating, and diarrhea. In severe cases, it can even damage the small intestine's lining and lead to the malabsorption of nutrients.
If you wish to consume Twisted Tea but are worried about the presence of gluten, you may want to consider other gluten-free alcoholic beverages that are produced in facilities that are dedicated to making gluten-free products.
Alcoholic Gluten-Free Alternatives to Twisted Tea
If you are looking for a gluten-free alternative to Twisted Tea, several options are available. Read the labels carefully and look for certified gluten-free products from reputable organizations. The following are a few popular gluten-free alternatives to Twisted Tea:
Wild Ohio Tea Beer
Wild Ohio tea beer is an ideal substitute for Twisted Tea because they do not use any grain that contains gluten. It is a safe option for individuals with celiac disease and other gluten sensitivities since there are no additivities or ingredients with gluten in them.
Remember that wild Ohio beer are not gluten-free; only wild Ohio tea beer is gluten-free. The brand has different flavors of Tea and beer, creating an option for the consumers to choose from depending on taste and preference.
Owls Brew Tea
Owls brew Tea is a gluten-free brew that substitutes malt with ethanol and fruit juice. Owls brew Tea is not only gluten-free but also suitable for individuals on a vegan-free diet. Like wild Ohio, owls brew Tea comes in various flavors, making it easier for consumers to choose the flavor they like.
Nonalcoholic Gluten-Free Alternatives to Twisted Tea
Made from fresh and unfermented tea leaves, green Tea is a popular nonalcoholic choice for individuals with celiac disease and those who wish to maintain a healthy diet. It's naturally gluten-free and can be enjoyed hot or cold.
Herbal teas are suitable for Twisted Tea since their ingredients are mainly herbs. It is an ideal nonalcoholic substitute for Twisted Tea because it is gluten-free and healthy. Some popular herbal tea flavors you can buy are chamomile, peppermint, and ginger tea.
Rooibos tea is made from rooibos plant leaves and is naturally caffeine-free and gluten-free. It is slightly sweet, has a nutty flavor, and is frequently enjoyed as a dessert tea. Rooibos tea is available in different groceries and supermarkets.
About THE AUTHOR
I have over a decade of experience in food and beverage management, including a ServSafe food safety qualification. As part of this qualification, I have been professionally trained in safe food storage.Read More About Mark Walker