Is Whiskey Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Whiskey is gluten-free, is the distillation process is done fully
  • Cross-contamination can add gluten to whiskey
  • Sorghum and millet whiskeys are gluten free
  • Drinking whiskey excessively can lead to liver cirrhosis
  • You can check on the brand's website to confirm if their whiskey is gluten-free

Whiskey is one of the most widely consumed alcoholic beverages that come in a range of flavors. So, is whiskey gluten-free?

Even though whiskey is manufactured from ingredients such as wheat, rye, or barley, it is considered gluten-free. This is because the distillation process helps eliminate the gluten in these ingredients. However, some whiskey brands contain other additives that can add gluten in their product.

Our main objective is to ensure that the information we offer our readers is factual and highly researched. We have a skilled staff of personnel, including authors, researchers, and editors, who strive to create dependable and high-quality content through articles and other projects. This team brings vast skills and experience in the field, and draws its conclusions from both theory and research. As a result, when you read our projects, we guarantee you credible information.

Table of contents


About Whiskey

Whiskey is one of the alcoholic beverages that became popular in the US during the 18th century. Typically, thIS product is brewed mainly with malt, corn, or rye, which is then distilled to create a whiskey with an 80% of alcohol content.

The whiskey is then diluted with water to lower the alcohol content by up to 50 to 52 %. How people drink whiskey depends on their preference because there is no standard way to serve it. Nonetheless, different people love to dilute it with water, juice, or ice cubes to enhance its flavors and neutralize the alcohol content.

Since whiskey has a high alcohol content, it is advisable to take it in small amounts for excessive intake for a long time can lead to liver cirrhosis and other related conditions. In addition to that, long-term use of whiskey can trigger the development of certain types of cancer such as throat cancer.

Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?

Celiac disease and related conditions such as non celiac gluten sensitivity are triggered by the presence of gluten in food. Scientists have studied this condition but there is no breakthrough so far on its cure. The only solution, then, becomes avoiding food containing gluten.

If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, then you may find yourself with various symptoms such as bloating. This is after exposure to gluten where gluten sensitivities problems may accumulate over time. In some cases, the condition can become so serious that it will affect your ability to execute your daily commitments.

Thus, the best thing is to be on a gluten free diet, and avoid foods with gluten such as gluten containing grains. This is because if celiac disease is not checked, it can deteriorate with time. If you take food with gluten, you might be experiencing negative health symptoms any time that you take your meals.

So, is whiskey gluten free? Typically, whiskey is made from ingredients such as wheat, rye, or barley, which are gluten containing grains. However, the distillation process aids in producing whiskey and removing gluten. Therefore, whiskey is gluten-free and you can proceed to enjoy your whiskey gluten free. It is considered gluten free.

However, much as you may easily get gluten free whiskey, not all whiskeys are gluten-free because of the brands and flavors or other ingredients that may contain some gluten after distillation.

Again, the process of preparing whiskey may require additives such as caramel coloring. If you like drinking whiskey, and you have glucose sensitivities, you should avoid such additives, contaminated gluten grains, and any whiskey made from gluten containing ingredients.

Additionally, some brands may have shared facilities or equipment to make whiskey and other products, which could lead to cross-contamination and this will have an impact on gluten free whiskey.

Additionally, even though the distillation process helps eliminate gluten, some brands do not incorporate the process entirely, and some may remain.

Therefore, if you have celiac disease or are sensitive to gluten, you should be cautious when selecting a whiskey brand that adheres to a gluten-free policy.

You should also be careful about the source of the whiskey and if the grain used is gluten free grain. Be on the look out for whiskey brands which state their source as gluten free grains, but they are not.

Unfortunately, consumers may not be able to easily know that a certain product is gluten free. This is because many companies drive their sales agenda through marketing, which can be misleading. But consumers can make an effort- by doing due diligence when purchasing products.

Gluten-Free Types Of Whiskey

Sorghum Whiskey

If you have celiac or are allergic to gluten, sorghum whiskey is a suitable option. This is because sorghum whiskey is derived from grains which are naturally free of gluten and few are gluten containing grains, thereby making sorghum whiskey a safe product to use. Typically, there are different ways in which brands use sorghum to make whiskey.

One of the ways is to utilize the sorghum's conventional mash, ferment, and distillation process. Alternatively, they extract sorghum fluid to omit the use of the mash completely.

Millet Whiskeys

Millet whiskeys are also purely gluten-free but deliver a slightly different flavor from barley. Millet whiskey has a drier but sweeter taste than barley whiskeys.

Overall, millet whiskey is a well-liked beverage that is easier to make than other types of whiskeys since the distillation process does not require removing any gluten.

How To Ensure The Whiskey You Buy Is Gluten-Free

Even though the distillation process makes most of the whiskey gluten-free, it is advisable to check on specific parameters to be sure that distilled alcohol such as whiskey is gluten-free. The following are the ways to consider:

Check the Whiskey Bottle

The first thing to check is the whiskey bottle for gluten information. Typically, the FDA has regulated gluten-free as a labeling term because the consumers will need assurance that the product is gluten-free through labeling.

Another alternative is to check the GFCO mark on the bottle. When you get the GFCO mark, the regulatory body has certified and approved that its product has the standard gluten level.

The mark is indicated by a green square written "gluten-free" or a small black circle with the letters “GF” on it.

Visit the Brands Website

If the GFCO mark isn’t satisfactory for you, you can visit the whiskey brand site and check whether the product is safe for individuals who are gluten sensitive. Additionally, the website can contain more comprehensive information on the ingredients and the production process. Established brands have made an effort to have their packages labeled gluten free if they are.

The Top Trusted gluten-free Whiskey brands

The production of whiskey has increased worldwide, creating unique whiskey with unique flavors. However, not all brands can be trusted to produce quality or well-refined whiskey. The following are 2 of the top-rated whiskey brands:

Kovai Whiskey

Kovai whiskey brand provides a good whiskey, especially for individuals who want a gluten-free product. This is because it is made from millet and other ingredients that retain its spicy and traditional flavor.

The Kovai whiskey is made in the Chicago distillery using organic millet from farmers who dwell in the Midwest part of the US. When the distillation process is complete, the whiskey is put in oak barrels to give it the spicy aromas of rye whiskey.

Queen Jennie Whiskey

Queen Jennie whiskey is a popular whiskey brand produced purely with sorghum. Like the Kovai whiskey, it is also suitable for individuals with celiac and gluten allergies because sorghum lacks gluten. The drink has an alluring nut flavor and a taste of vanilla, brown sugar, and marshmallow.