Is Worcestershire Sauce Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Worcestershire sauce is a flavory condiment used in a wide range of dishes
  • Worcestershire Sauce can be gluten-free or not depending on the ingredients
  • Always check the ingredients list to determine whether there’s any gluten
  • There are several brands of certified gluten-free Worcestershire sauce

Worcestershire sauce is a household staple used in a wide range of dishes and recipes. But is Worcestershire sauce gluten-free?

Worcestershire sauce could be gluten-free, and it depends on the ingredients used in that specific bottle. If it has been made using naturally gluten-free ingredients, then it will be gluten-free. If it contains natural flavors or soy sauce then that sauce won’t be gluten-free.

We are an online resource dedicated to providing people on a gluten-free diet with evidence-based diet and food-related information. Our content creation team is composed of writers, editors and other professionals, who are industry veterans, including board-certified nutritionists and dietitians. So, you can be confident that you are getting your information from a highly credible source.

Table of contents


About Worcestershire

Worcestershire sauce is a popular condiment used to add flavor to salads, sandwiches, stews and soups. Some people also use this thick brown sauce when grilling vegetables, to give them that savory taste.

This sauce is named after its place of origin, which is Worcester in Worcestershire, England. The sauce is a common addition to beef and stews.

Worcestershire is made using numerous ingredients. The most common ones include distilled white vinegar, water, sugar, garlic, onion, clove, chili pepper extract, tamarind extract, salt, molasses, and anchovies, among others. Some types of this sauce may also contain natural flavors.

Worcestershire sauce and soy sauce are two different products, but are equally good as condiments. An alternative to the use of these two products is apple cider vinegar.

As far as products such as Worcestershire  are good, their consumption will also depend on individual circumstances. For example, some brands of this sauce contain high fructose corn syrup which can negatively affect the people living with diabetes.

So, is worcestershire  sauce gluten free? And if yes, is worcestershire sauce gluten free naturally gluten free? Is gluten free worcestershire sauce safe for people with celiac disease?

A Primer On Gluten

Gluten is a protein naturally found in barley, wheat, rye and several species of grains in the grass family. As its name suggests, it acts as a form of glue that helps to hold these grains together. It also gives the dough a stretchy texture and consistency.

You can also find barley in almost processed foods and products from these cereals. For instance, you will find it in bread, sauces, salad dressings, pasta, baked goods, food coloring, beer, crackers, waffles, and rolls, just to name a few.

And while gluten is largely safe to consume for the majority of the population, people with gluten sensitivity, celiac disease and gluten intolerance have to avoid it completely.

If you are sensitive to gluten and you accidentally eat foods with gluten-containing ingredients, you will end up with numerous gut complications.

For instance, you may experience things like indigestion, abdominal cramping, constipation, flatulence and bloating, and diarrhea, just to name a few.

People with a gluten allergy may also experience severe symptoms like nerve damage, rashes, unintentional weight loss, and fatigue if they consume gluten-containing foods.

When it comes to the consumption of sauce, people with celiac disease should consume gluten free soy sauce and worcestershire sauce gluten free.

Does Worcestershire Sauce Have Gluten?

From our discussion above, people with gluten allergies, non-celiac gluten intolerance and celiac disease have to follow a gluten-free diet. And, this means that they have to be extremely cautious of what they eat and they should be faithful to consuming a gluten free diet.

So, if you have gluten sensitivity and you love enhancing your dishes’ flavor with sauces and condiments, you may be wondering whether Worcestershire sauce is gluten-free. Is Worcestershire sauce gluten-free? Is Worcestershire sauce ideal for people on a gluten-free diet?

The answer to the above question isn’t straightforward. Whether Worcestershire sauce will be gluten-free or not will depend on the ingredients used to formulate it.

The main ingredients used to make Worcestershire sauce are naturally gluten-free. Consequently, such sauce will also be gluten-free.

The original version of the sauce contained barley malt vinegar, and therefore, it was unsafe for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. The product has evolved drastically over the years, and different groups of people can find its market variations which will match their health needs.

For people looking for a vegan diet, the worcestershire sauce vegan is a good alternative. It combines the benefits of being vegan and that it is gluten free.

However, some types of Worcestershire sauce also come with natural flavors. And, these natural flavors can be made of malt vinegar and other malt derivatives, obtained from barley. And as we mentioned earlier, barley is a gluten-containing grain.

Also, some brands of Worcestershire sauce feature soy sauce as an ingredient. And, the majority of soy sauce is made using wheat. Therefore, any Worcestershire sauce with soy sauce won’t be considered gluten-free.

Is Worcestershire Sauce Safe For People With Celiac Disease?

As we’ve mentioned above, Worcestershire sauce can be gluten-free or not. It all comes down to the ingredients that have been used.

If all the ingredients used to make it are naturally gluten-free, then the sauce will be safe for people with celiac disease and gluten allergies, and you will be making sauce gluten free.

On the other hand, if the ingredients used have traces of gluten or have been sourced from gluten-containing grains, then that Worcestershire sauce isn’t safe for those with celiac.

For example, Heinz 57 sauce contains barley in malt vinegar and therefore, it is not categorized as gluten free.

Also, there’s a risk of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process. Contamination occurs mainly through sharing of equipment in food processing, in the process of handling, and in the princess of transportation.

So, if you have severe gluten sensitivity, it will be highly advisable to prepare your own Worcestershire sauce at home to avoid any complications. You just need to gather the ingredients from the market and follow the right process.

How To Buy Gluten-Free Worcestershire Sauce

There are hundreds of Worcestershire sauce brands in the country. And from our earlier discussion, you can’t be 100% sure whether the sauce will be gluten-free or not. So, how do you ensure you only purchase gluten-free Worcestershire sauce?

First, visit the company’s website. Most reputable brands will have a product page online, featuring all the ingredients used to make the sauce.

Here, you should be able to see whether there are any gluten-containing ingredients in the list. And with this information, you should be able to deduce whether the sauce is safe for you or not if you are on a gluten-free diet.

Second, you can examine the packaging. In case you can’t find a product page online, you can simply examine the sauce packaging directly. Again, all the ingredients used to make the sauce will be listed here and you should be able to catch any possible culprits.

The Top Gluten-Free Worcestershire Sauce Brands

As you can see, determining whether Worcestershire sauce is gluten-free or not can be a complicated process. The easiest and fastest way to buy gluten-free Worcestershire sauce is to go for certified gluten-free Worcestershire sauce brands.

The good thing is that these brands are certified and well labeled, or at least, many of them are.

Some of the top gluten-free Worcestershire sauce brands include The Wizard’s Worcestershire Sauce, Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce, French’s Worcestershire Sauce, Savory Spice Worcestershire Sauce, and Wan Ja Shan Worcestershire Sauce.

If you are not sure about the brand that could affect you, it is always prudent to ask the opinion of the doctor.