Is Yogurt Gluten Free? | Build a Stash

This article may contain affiliate links where we earn a commission from qualifying purchases.

Key Takeaways

  • Yogurt in its natural form is gluten-free
  • Some yogurt brands put additives that may have gluten
  • It is crucial to check on the products label to confirm that it is gluten-free
  • Some yogurt brands carry the risk of contamination
  • There are yogurt brands trusted to make gluten-free yogurt

Yogurt is a popular dairy product that comes in plain or fruity flavors. Consumers would like to know if it's gluten free or not.

When yogurt is made in its pure and natural form, it is usually gluten free. Therefore, it is a safe product for someone with gluten problems. However, some brands may use flavors and artificial colors containing gluten from cross contamination.

We strive to ensure we provide our readers with up-to-date and dependable information. Additionally, our team of competent personnel, consisting of researchers, authors, and editors, ensures that the content they create and publish in various projects is of high quality. This team boasts of years of skills and experience in the food industry. As a result, when you read any of our guides, the information you get is highly credible

Table of contents


Is Yogurt Gluten Free?

Yogurt is one of the most popular food products in the American diet since it contains various significant nutrients for human health. Many children grow up consuming yogurt and appreciate it as much.

Yogurt is also flexible because you can consume it with various desserts, such as cakes and muffins, or add it to berries. With technological improvement, some companies have also started making different yogurt flavors using fruits and other ingredients. The market is promising a lot of innovation on yogurt products.

Whereas many people consume yogurt and plain yogurt, they do not know the benefits that come with it. To start with, yogurt is rich in calories, carbs, calcium, phosphorus, and potassium. In particular, plain yogurt comes with a natural flavor and is a healthy diet to take.

Additionally, yogurt is a rich source of potassium, vitamin b5, zinc, and phosphorus, which all have a beneficial role in the body. Therefore, it is advisable to consume yogurt regularly because it is healthy and sweet.

Yogurt, which is a cultured product, contains fiber. Fibre plays an important role in improving digestion, and preventing pertinent problems that come with it. Some brands such as Yoplait yogurt gluten free are good in enhancing digestion, and the same case applies to chobani yogurt gluten free.

People with lactose intolerance should be aware that their body may not be able to effectively absorb milk sugar, lactose. This leads to diarrhea and bloating. The good news is that if you have lactose intolerance, you can still consume yogurt.

Gluten intolerance is a problem that affects a number of Americans. Medical conditions that are associated with gluten sensitivity are celiac disease and non celiac gluten sensitivity. In addition to that, some individuals experience wheat allergy.

However, using flavors has led to most individuals worrying about the risk of consuming yogurt since some of them follow a gluten-free diet. This is because some flavors  may have gluten and be unsafe to take.

Nonetheless, the ideal way to avoid getting adverse effects from gluten from some yogurts is to check the product's label to confirm that it is gluten-free.

So, is yogurt gluten free? Is it naturally gluten free? When yogurt is made purely with its traditional ingredients, it is glute -free and by taking this product, it is usually yogurt gluten free. .

Even though yogurt is gluten-free, not all brands use the traditional processes or ingredients alone; some may add gluten-containing additives, and therefore, you will not be taking a gluten free diet.

Other yogurt brands also make their yogurt using machines and other equipment that process other products that may have gluten. Therefore, before you buy yogurt from any brand, check its ingredients and any additional information that shows it is gluten-free.

How to confirm whether Yogurt is Gluten-free?

If you have any problem with gluten sensitivity, then you need to be very careful about the products you take. In order to do this, it is important that you be having basic information about gluten beforehand. Through this, you will be able to make an informed decision.

As a precaution, you should check the following information:

Check for any Gluten information

The first information to check is whether the product contains any gluten information that shows it is gluten-free and that products are gluten free. Some companies ensure that their products are labeled gluten free as part of the initiative to ensure transparency in business.

Regulatory bodies, such as the Food and Drugs Administration (FDA), typically set specific gluten standards, especially for yogurt brands containing gluten additives. Therefore, for a product to be labeled gluten free, then it is, and you do not have to be worried over this.

FDA will only certify yogurt brands with gluten below 20 parts per million. Therefore, before buying the product, check for phrases such as "gluten-free" or "GF."

Check the Ingredient list

If there is no gluten information, check the ingredient list and look for any ingredient that is likely to have gluten. This step is important because some brands are known to use additives, preservatives, and artificial colors that are a source of gluten.

Sometimes other ingredients used in the product may have ambiguous names, or you may not be familiar with them. In such a scenario, it is advisable to quickly search about it and assess whether it contains gluten.

In case you are not able to make a decision, call the manufacturer and seek information about gluten.

Top Rated brands are known to sell Gluten-free Yogurt

The main reason yogurt is popularly known worldwide is due to the emergence of different yogurt brands.

However, even though most of them sell gluten-free yogurt, some brands do not follow the gluten standards and regulations required by the involved regulatory bodies. The following are some of the trusted gluten free yogurt products:

Dannon Yogurt

Dannon is a popular dairy brand for making different yogurt flavors using natural ingredients. They also make creamy and low-fat yogurts, giving consumers various yogurt options.

According to the brand's official website, all its yogurt flavors are certified by the gluten-free certifying organization (GFCO) to be gluten-free.

Therefore, they contain gluten levels, which is less than 10 parts per million. Since Dannon has various branches in the US, you can get Dannon yogurts in the nearest supermarkets or yogurt shops.

The Cabot Greek Yogurt

Cabot Greek yogurt is a perfect alternative for individuals who are gluten intolerant. Even though Cabot is popularly known for making cheese, it also produces beautiful yogurt with different flavors, such as vanilla and strawberry.

According to the company’s website, since they manufacture different dairy goods, they ensure that all of their products, including yogurt, are tested and investigated to be gluten-free.

Additionally, since they share some of the facilities for making yogurt and other related products that could contain gluten,  the GFCO has certified them to have a gluten level that is less than 10 parts per million.

Can you make Gluten free Yogurt at home?

Making gluten-free yogurt at home is possible, and as a matter of fact, it is fun. Cooking at home is not only healthy, but it is economical.

Additionally, the advantage of making homemade and gluten-free yogurt is that you can make your favorite flavor, which is not limited in quantity.

Moreover, if you make yogurt at home, you will be using ingredients which are certified gluten free, for instance, soy sauce gluten free.

With homemade cooking, you can faithfully follow the recommendations of the gluten free certification organization concerning the use of gluten containing ingredients.